Nonna's Tuscan Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I am the submitter of this recipe. I have tried, unsuccessfully so far, to have a misprint corrected. The water should be 1/3 cup, NOT 1/2 cup. The longer you let it mellow, the thicker it gets, also. So if you like your dressing to be thick, BE SURE to make it at least 24 hours before you need it and allow it to rest in the fridge before use. Another way to make it thicker if you don't have resting time that I can recommend is to put 1 Tb tomato paste in the blender with the rest of the ingredients. The paste not only makes it thicker, it rounds out the taste and imparts a lovely blush. Feel free to add more Parmesan if you like it, which will also lend additional body to the dressing. The flavor is best if you avoid garlic powder (which no self-respecting Italian would ever have in his/her kitchen) and stick with fresh garlic. If raw garlic is too sharp for your taste, brown it lightly in a touch of olive oil before incorporating it. It's well worth the time to do this. Once again, if you find it too acidic for your taste, either be sure to use a high quality balsamic - from Modena, which has a much smoother finish on the palate, or add a tablespoon or two of corn syrup and blend well. Nothing is carved in stone. You can tailor this recipe to your taste. BTW, one reviewer questioned the olive oil amount, and it only seems low. Don't forget that the mayonnaise is almost pure oil, as well, which is why the recipe only calls for 3 Tb olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Great recipe for homemade Italian dressing! I used Hellman's light mayo and a good quality balsamic vinegar. I also used 1/3 c. of water a little more Parmesan and garlic and added 1/2 tsp. of white sugar. I let it sit overnight and it went perfect over mixed greens, tomatoes, cucumbers, and thin sliced red onion. This is a fabulous salad dressing! Thanks Baricat for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I took the submitter's suggestion for smoother flavor and used a quality balsamic and reduced the water as suggested. I had time to make this dressing early this morning while cleaning up the breakfast dishes. The mayonnaise I used was reduced-fat and I used extra virgin olive oil and honestly, this didn't affect the flavor at all. This was good but I did end up tripling the spices after sticking a pinky in and giving it a try. IMO, this is one of the best salad dressings I've had on this site. I cannot stress enough that you use a quality balsamic for the best results. I could really just drink a vat of this--thanks for a new family favorite, Baricat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
We loved this. It reminds us of Olive Garden's salad dressing, only a bit creamier. It was just the right tartness for our palates. I let it whirl in the blender for about 2-3 minutes or so. If it's too tart, you could always back off a bit on the vinegar, or use balsamic, which will give smoothness to the taste. But all I can say is in this house, we LOVED it and I keep a cruet of it in the fridge all the time for dipping baby carrots and impromptu salads. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I'm a huge fan of homemade dressings--I don't even purchase the bottled kind but this recipe was just too sour for me. I followed the submitter's recipe correction using less water but thought it was still way too runny. Also, I'm used to a 3-to-1 oil to vinegar ratio and this recipe seemed to have it backwards. I was disappointed since so many reviewers had given it high marks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I follwed the recipe pretty closely-used a bit less water as the submitter suggested, did a combo of flavored red wine vineger & balsamic, used a tad more cheese & garlic & added a dash of tomatoe powder as I've been wanting to use it-had a nice blush, was a little runny, but didn't have time to let it set-went to a get-together straight from the blender, but it was a star of the party-everyone loved it-very- tasty & easy! I will definetly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Fantastic recipe! I used light mayo (all I had), and balsamic vinegar, also used garlic powder. Thanks Baricat! I will update tomorrow when I serve it with a salad! I can already tell its great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made this dressing as written and found the vinegar a little pungent (hubby not a big fan). I added a scoop of sun dried tomato pesto and that did the trick, WONDERFUL dressing! Thanks Nonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is delicious. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was too acidic for our tastes. I had to add more Olive oil & spices to even use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States