Nona's Famous Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Excellent! No changes, just seasonal additions. Chopped zucchini, fresh snap peas, cucumber, green pepper....you are limited by your imagination. I also learned on Cook Illustrated to add seasoning to ingredients and let sit a bit (1/2 hour) before mixing in the mayo. Seasonings absorb better to macaroni, instead of mayo. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saugatuck, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Excellent! Very tasty and a unique salad idea. I upped the mayonnaise to 1/3 cup because I had a lot of veggies cut up, and was surprised to find that that was enough...I had expected to need even more! Addition: we did have to add more mayo the next day because it had dried out quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This is a great recipe. I, too, upped the mayo (Hellman's Mayonnaise because it's the best), and I also added a dash of vinegar to give it a little zing. I added frozen peas, which adds to the color and flavor more than you would expect. It reminded me of how mom used to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kalex
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was a very good salad. I used reduced fat mayo and whole wheat pasta. It turned out great,not to heavy and very fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
This was a hit at a party we had, it is even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Used peas instead of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Refreshingly crisp--not loaded with mayo like other salads. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I appreciate the inspiration from this dish to use radishes the way one would use red onion for some kick. I will likely make it again. This is a good dish, but the recipe as written is just the starting point. Here's what I did: used a 14oz box of whole wheat macaroni pasta, one bunch sliced radishes, 6 celery stalks, what little green onion I had in the house plus a couple garlic scapes I had (they're like green onions except garlicky), 5Tbl mayonnaise, a dash of white wine vinegar, and then plenty of salt, pepper, and Old Bay seasoning. It took me a while to keep adding spice, stir, taste, repeat. It's a simple dish, yet satisfying and I look forward to seeing how the flavors deepen the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
It was okay. I thought it was a little bland and definitely not enough mayo - I had to add a whole other half a cup to make it at all creamy. It could use some more flavor. The other people I served it to liked it okay, but I wasn't thrilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States