Non-Edible Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
I KNEW this recipe would stain hands, countertop, rolling pin, etc... I was wrong. We were out of cloves, so I substituted a mix of allspice, mace, and ginger. Worked great and smelled delicious. The longer you knead the dough, the easier it was to work with. My kids and I (ages 5 & 7) made 29 ornament/gift ties from this recipe. Sand the edges after they dry to 'clean up' any rough spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Very simple to make. I had to add a little bit more applesauce to get the right consistency. I would say don't bother adding the cloves or nutmeg - the cinnamon is so overwhelming that you don't really smell either one and it's a waste of expensive spices. I dried them in the oven and some cracked and others heaved a little. If you have the time to air dry them, do it that way. You'll be happier with the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe!! We substituted 1 TB allspice instead of the cloves and nutmeg and used the tiny cookie cutters, we ended up with 82 ornaments. Bamboo Skewers (not the pointed end) make good holes for hanging. Then we decorated them with acrylic paints. They make great gift tags or ornaments...and they made the house smell super!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This scented my entire house. I only added Cinnamon, not the other spices. I also added about 1/2 c to 1 c of flour. Seems to bind everything more. Tip: pat the mixture on plastic wrap (prevent sticking-easy clean-up) instead of rolling for less cracking. Make'm thick or they'll break! Use simple cutouts to prevent breaking. I baked for 2 hours turning every 1/2 hour to prevent sticking etc. They are wonderful!! Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
These are adorable and the smell is divine! Roll them out thick, otherwise the thin ones tend to crack. We used a straw to make the holes and then decorated them with white, red and green puffy paint. So cute and the kids had so much fun. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I made them 3 years ago and they still smell great. I made several X-mas tree ornaments and gift tags/tie ons with this recipe. I had a couple of problems though: some of them warped and others had cracks. Does anybody know how to avoid these problems?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
These tasted great! They gave me a horrible stomache ache though. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
These ornaments turned out really well in the end, but I had to use more applesauce than the recipe called for because the dough was really crumbly. Other than that, I really enjoyed making them with my daughter. One hint...we used glitter glue, little round red hot candies, and hot glue gun to add decorations to the ornaments. They look really pretty that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
My children and I made these for gifts five years ago and I still get compliments from family and friends that they smell great even now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cookworm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Great! Use a straw instead of a toothpick to make the holes. Makes about 14 3" ornaments. Needed closer to 1 C applesauce. Be sure to reserve some cinnamon for dusting the surface (I also used parchement paper) and while rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Melted Snowman Cookies

Turn marshmallows and sugar cookies into amazing melted snowmen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States