Non-Edible Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
Same wonderful recipe I used when my children were young. Nicely scented and decorative for the holdiays. Always a great craft or gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
I KNEW this recipe would stain hands, countertop, rolling pin, etc... I was wrong. We were out of cloves, so I substituted a mix of allspice, mace, and ginger. Worked great and smelled delicious. The longer you knead the dough, the easier it was to work with. My kids and I (ages 5 & 7) made 29 ornament/gift ties from this recipe. Sand the edges after they dry to 'clean up' any rough spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ward Langston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
The bottoms got too brown but I may have rolled the dough too thin. I did love them anyway! I have a brown cow so made brown cow ornaments that were quite a hit! They smell great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
These make great Christmas decorations and are fun to make with kids. They smell amazing both while they're baking and afterwards and are great to cut into shapes and paint. However, they use a LOT of cinnamon so be prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
These ornaments turned out really well in the end, but I had to use more applesauce than the recipe called for because the dough was really crumbly. Other than that, I really enjoyed making them with my daughter. One hint...we used glitter glue, little round red hot candies, and hot glue gun to add decorations to the ornaments. They look really pretty that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe!! We substituted 1 TB allspice instead of the cloves and nutmeg and used the tiny cookie cutters, we ended up with 82 ornaments. Bamboo Skewers (not the pointed end) make good holes for hanging. Then we decorated them with acrylic paints. They make great gift tags or ornaments...and they made the house smell super!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Great for kids and smell great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Very simple to make. I had to add a little bit more applesauce to get the right consistency. I would say don't bother adding the cloves or nutmeg - the cinnamon is so overwhelming that you don't really smell either one and it's a waste of expensive spices. I dried them in the oven and some cracked and others heaved a little. If you have the time to air dry them, do it that way. You'll be happier with the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
The idea is good with Cinnamon, but the ornaments lost their holiday shapes when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
These Christmas oornaments were so easy to make. I decorated them with puff paint in Christmas colors.I attached them to presants.They did need a little more applesauce then the recipe called for.I kept remainder of dough in a ziplock bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States