Non-Edible Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I made the recipe just as listed, minus the cloves because I didn't have any. While mixing it was crumbly so I added a bit more applesauce. Still crumbly but before I added more applesauce I turned it out of counter (dusted with cinnamon) and started kneading it. After about 2 minutes of kneading it was a perfect dough! I used a meat thermometer to make the hole for the ribbon, it was the perfect size. Just push it through while you're holding the ornament (before baking) so it goes all the way through. I baked around 200 for about 3 hours. After cool I used a nail file to sand down the edges and it made all the difference! They look and smell perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
super messy-fun to make - these have been a Christmas tradition for our family for years. we love giving them as take-home gifts at our Christmas open house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I needed more cinnamon. I patted the dough with my hands and only got a few ornaments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
LoVe this recipe! I found that it works best when the dough is moist and kneaded well. I had to add more applesauce than called for (about 1/4 c. more). I used a cold plastic cutting board to roll the dough with a sheet of wax paper over the top. I have a rolling pin that I can set to roll various thicknesses evenly and set it to 1/4", rolled then cut basic shapes and let air dry. After they dry I'll use sand paper to smooth the edges as recommended and decorate. Smells like Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
These came out well-- VERY smelly! Mine took at least 4 days to dry. After drying, I decorated mine with glitter glue and fabric paint. Very cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These worked great for my preschool class!! Terrific/cute ornaments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Great recipe for the holidays! They smell sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Fun to make ornaments, and they smell so nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have made these ornaments last year and i ADDED some cinnamon oil (the kind you make suckers with) just a few drops. and the ornaments still have a lot of smell to them. We are making them again this year so we can put them on packages. When we made these last year the Cinnamon DID NOT stain the counters like i thought they would. I would recommend this to everyone who has children big or small. This is a fun project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Added ingredients exactly as described. Made them 1/2" thick and had 10 ornaments. After cutting, placed on a parchment lined baking sheet for the 1st day. Removed from sheet and placed on cookie rack and allowed to dry. Turned each day and it took 7 days for them to dry thoroughly. Used puff glitter paint to decorate. Was presented this Rosemary plant as a thank you for hosting Thanksgiving brunch and as a lark just hung some of the ornaments to take a picture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States