Non-Balaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was awesome!!! My whole family loved it, even the picky little girls! I didnt have any green onion, so I just left it out, and I didnt have any fresh parsley, so I used a little dried. Will definately be making this again!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rusk, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I decided to give this a try, and I am glad I did. My family really enjoyed it. I have a picky 11 year old and a non-picky 8 year old and they both liked it!!!! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was my family's recipe...not a traditional jamabalaya but our comfort dish, we add a few splashes of soy sauce when served up in the bowl...don't know how that got started but it's our favorite way to eat this. Light in flavor and warm in the belly. This is a great dish when it's gloomy out side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Robin Scobee
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
The whole family gave their thumbs up to this one! Even though I used turkey smoked sausage to cut down on the fat, I still felt the dish had plenty of flavor. The only think I might do differently next time is to add the parsley at the end. It got a little dark and gummy during cooking. Otherwise, very good. It may not have the spiciness or the seafood in "real" jambalaya but that's just fine for my midwest palate. I'm sure we'll be having this meal often. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Im from La but this is the way i make my jambalaya, i dont like the tomatoe-y taste or big chunks (or small) in my food. i season all layers with Tonys and this is my perfect jamablaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ruston, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
My mom makes this more me. I love chicken and rice. She's a good cooker.I love smelling the onions and parsley and onion cooking. The best part I like is that I get to add in everything in before she puts the lid on it and we have to wait for the rice to get done. I like putting soy sauce on it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booboomonkey1996

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
A bit boring, not bad at all but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Lash

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Great recipe, I took the idea and ran with it. I left out the chicken only b/c I didn't have any on hand. And I used orzo pasta instead of rice (4c. liquid to half a box of orzo absorbed nicely) It paired lovely. I also used dried parsley. Great, I will be playing with the ingredients in the future. Nice canvas. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I added 1/2 cup celery & 1 Tb of Creole seasoning to the onion saute. I also used 2 cups of cooked, cubed chicken I had in my freezer. It's a good basic dish that I will make again. It really needs the Creole seasoning, 1 Tb won't make it spicy, just flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
We had this last night and it was really good! I didn't have green onions or fresh parsley, so I used a large onion and used some dried parsley. Also I threw in a red bell pepper because I had to use it up. Very good! At the end of the hour cooking time the bottom was a little brown, but the brown part was really tasty too. I did cheat a little and put in some creole seasoning with the chicken. Everyone loved it. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Schoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Chef John's Farro with Wild Mushrooms

Delicious dish with farro, wild mushrooms and cheese.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States