Non-Balaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This was really tasty, much better than I expected. I didn't use chicken breasts (instead I only used chicken sausage) and I didn't have green onion or parsley. I threw in a handful of steak seasoning and it was very flavorful. I especially liked the texture of the rice and that this dish has a richness without having cheese or cream. I halved everything and it was done in 30 minutes. This was really easy to make and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Can't think of another recipe this easy that got my family raving. Everything else they ask me to repeat takes much more effort but this one I threw together and we all faught over the leftovers! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Basic recipe was good but I had to add more cajun spices because it was pretty bland otherwise. After I tweeked the spice level this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was good, but very bland. We all had to add salt, but definitely comfort food, very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Great recipe, I took the idea and ran with it. I left out the chicken only b/c I didn't have any on hand. And I used orzo pasta instead of rice (4c. liquid to half a box of orzo absorbed nicely) It paired lovely. I also used dried parsley. Great, I will be playing with the ingredients in the future. Nice canvas. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
The title of this got my curiousity up. I've never had "real" jambalaya so I have nothing to compare this to, so I don't care. :-) The flavor was pretty good and it was interesting, but somehow the texture of the smoked sausage seemed a bit odd in this. I can see from the pics it's supposed to be thick but I still had to add a fair amount of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
My mom makes this more me. I love chicken and rice. She's a good cooker.I love smelling the onions and parsley and onion cooking. The best part I like is that I get to add in everything in before she puts the lid on it and we have to wait for the rice to get done. I like putting soy sauce on it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booboomonkey1996

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was my family's recipe...not a traditional jamabalaya but our comfort dish, we add a few splashes of soy sauce when served up in the bowl...don't know how that got started but it's our favorite way to eat this. Light in flavor and warm in the belly. This is a great dish when it's gloomy out side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I added 1/2 cup celery & 1 Tb of Creole seasoning to the onion saute. I also used 2 cups of cooked, cubed chicken I had in my freezer. It's a good basic dish that I will make again. It really needs the Creole seasoning, 1 Tb won't make it spicy, just flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I chose this recipe because I had the small smoked sausages and didn't know what to do with them. This is a great recipe, will definately cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Chef John's Farro with Wild Mushrooms

Delicious dish with farro, wild mushrooms and cheese.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States