Noisemaker Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I bet this might work better if you took the wonton wrappers and inserted them into mini muffin tins after you have brushed them with a tad of oil. Bake for 10-15 minutes till slightly tan and formed. Leave them in the pan but remove from oven, and fill with your mixture, returning to oven. I make a similar recipe using this method and it is foolproof! This reminds me of Crab Rangoon at the local Chinese Restaurant. Naturally you might want to change the name of the recipe as well. We call them stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyRoseDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made these for Thanksgiving and the family loved them. I used diced ham instead of crab and brushed the butter on the horns before I baked them. Other than that I stayed true to the recipe. They are a bit time consuming when you don't quite have the hang of it. Be sure to make the horns fairly tight like in the picture. Otherwise, there is too much filling in each one. Also, sterilized tweezers assist with pulling the tin foil out of the baked horns. Thanks for the recipe. I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this for a new year's eve party and was very disappointed. The wonton wrappers burned on the ends before the middles were crispy and the dill/butter wash made them greasy. It might be worth it to try frying the cones instead of baking. The filling wasn't bad (I ended up saving most of it for a dip) but the recipe was too much work for too little result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASSIVEMO1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I wasn't altogether thrilled w/ this recipe although I think that is partly due to my making the horns a few hours ahead (w/out filling them). I figured they'd keep just fine but I think they got a little stale, even in taht short amount of time. I put the horns on a rack over a baking sheet before brushing them w/ the butter (you are going to want to do that or they'll get soggy in all the excess butter). I used garlic powder instead of salt & I rinsed my crab first to remove some of the tinned, fishy taste. The ends did get a little overcooked so I think 350 (or even 325) would be a better temp for the oven. These were really cute & although they wren't a hit for me, I suspect that, after other reviewers have tried them & given their own handy-dandy tips, that they will be a much better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was a really fun app that I made for New Year's Eve. It's festive and tasted great. It came together faster than I expected, and once you got a rhythm with rolling the wrappers it went quickly. The tip about using tweezers was great because some of the foil pieces do get stuck. For the filling I added a little extra sour cream and lemon juice to thin it out, and lots of black pepper for flavor. Next time I'll add parsley or chives. To dress it up, I sprinkled black sesame seeds on the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
incredibly cute but bland recipe TOO much dill! I would recommend replacing the dill with old bay instead of the dill, or something else, and doubling the crab
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Dean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
My friend made these for my grandfathers 80th suprise party and they were awesome. She made half with the crab and added old bay, then the other half regular with shrimp. They were great and we plan to have them for our christmas party this year. BIG hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made these at Easter and used the hint to bake the wonton wrappers first in a mini muffin pan, which is a great idea, I used fresh crabmeat but recipe needed more seasonings, I also put another wonton wrapper on top which I don't think I needed, everybody ate them and next time I am sure they will come out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Way too time consuming when you have a lot of other things too do to get ready for a party. I gave up although I was finally getting the hang of it after I had baked about 20 .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
i would lower the heat on the baking because they burn on the edges at 375...even at 350 they get too brown. i'll try them again at 325...i added a bunch of ingredients to the crab mixture to liven it up..the kids my hubby loved them...i will make again my way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States