Nobody's Strawberry Watermelon Shakedown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Reading a few other reviews I’ll play with this smoothie again. Had frozen strawberries on hand – used fresh watermelon – BUT will freeze some watermelon simply for these smoothies. I used stevia extract instead of sugar, store brand plain Greek yogurt and store brand unsweetened almond milk. A lot of dairy clogs up my respiratory system. In recent decade or so – I substitute soy or almond milk over traditional milk a lot. Did not have orange juice on hand – but will use at least a little lemon if I don’t have orange juice next time. This is quite delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Watermelon, of course, is full of water – and I wanted a more intense watermelon flavor with the strawberries. So I pureed it, and after doing so I allowed the solids to settle and then poured off the water. It worked great! Instead of yogurt and cream I used homemade strawberry ice cream. I left out the orange juice because to be honest I think its flavor is too bold and detracts from other flavors. I forgot to add the vanilla but I didn’t miss it. Since I had neither the water from the watermelon nor the orange juice, I added half-and-half to compensate. This was wonderful. Hubs couldn’t put his finger on what was in it and called it almost like fruit punch. (Did I mention I threw in some frozen raspberries with this too?) I liked this more than most I’ve made which, frankly, are getting kind of boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious, light and summery way to use up frozen watermelon. I had a few minor adjustments - I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain since that's what I had on hand, and low-fat milk instead of cream to cut the calories. Next time I might include one additional tablespoon of orange juice to give it a little more tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was a fantastic treat for the us tonight. We will be making this again with a variety of fruits. Thanks for the recipe Nobody's Girl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPPERSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is a very refreshing smoothie! I used lemonade, like some other reviewers said and honey in place of the sugar, and I didn't have frozen watermelon so I used fresh watermelon and added 6 ice cubes, but it still came out just fine! Oh, and I added a banana too!!! The recipe made enough for two of us, so I doubled the recipe for four of us. This one has already been added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Just ok. Nothing to write home about. Needs more flavor. O well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
There is yummy in my tummy! I used almond milk instead of cream, opted to swap the sugar for honey and didn't add the vanilla extract. The flavors blended well I only wish I would have made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatmaliscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Very good smoothie recipe that I will make again. I honestly forgot the orange juice when I made this, but I will add it in next time. I love that it is light on the watermelon. A great way for us to use up watermelon. My fridge was packed and my watermelon and strawberries froze, so this worked out great. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Delicious and refreshing. I did use lemon juice and omitted sugar. I felt it was sweet enough and enjoyed the tartness from the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ferrell Tippett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Rougemont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States