No Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Wow! After receiving sticker-shock at the price of the no-tomato sauce in my local whole food store, I went in search of a recipe I could do myself. I am pleasantly surprised at how deceiving this is! My youngest son has a tomato sensitivity and this is a great substitute. Make sure to use the red wine vinegar to match the acidity of the tomatoes. I am now going to research no-tomato ketchup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I was diagnosed with a tomato allergy a few years ago and have missed my homemade lasagna so SO bad. This sauce was the first time I've had good lasagna in years!! If you have a tomato allergy, this recipe is life changing :) To me, it just tastes like a low-acid tomato sauce. My husband complained loudly about how he'll hate the sauce because he can't stand beets. But after he tried it, he's been more than willing to go for seconds. He admits that you can't taste the beets. My only suggestion is adding a few tablespoons of chicken broth and plenty of oregano and basil. The sauce takes on the seasonings very well. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emancipation
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I tried this last night and used fresh beets & carrots (not canned). It worked like a charm to boil the veggies, blend then and by adding a bit of the carrot water back into the blended veggies, it created a beautiful sauce. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe! My hubby cannot tolerate tomatoes so this has given us a way to share everything from pizza to pasta to chili again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I can't eat red tomatoes and have been looking for alternatives to Alfredo and pesto sauce for quite a while. I really liked this recipe. It mimicked "red" sauce so well, I had to train my brain that it was ok to eat :) it came out a little too thick, but I think that was because I used fresh carrots instead of canned. My husband (the anti-vegetarian) and my picky teen even tried it and liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Love this recipe! I'm allergic tomatoes and I thought I was destined to a life with no spaghetti, thanks to you, I'm not! I added red wine to make the sauce less thick, and it turned out great. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Man oh man, this was good! I sent this recipe to a co-worker that's allergic to tomatoes. He brought it in to work and let me try it. It's yummy! I can tell that there are other veggies in the sauce, but I couldn't tell you that there weren't tomatoes in it. I'm going to start adding this in with my regular tomato based sauce just to get more veggies into the mix. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMTN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
wonderful can't get enough! no acid reflux at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
What a wonderful recipe - I was recently told to stay away from tomatoes and was missing the Italian foods that my family seems to survive on! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
wow this sauce is actually quite delicious. I normally hate beets but i made this for my bf who hates tomato sauce. To my surprise i really likes this sauce too. The vinegar help to cut the sweetness quite well (the sweetness is what i hate about beets). Overall this is a very good and healthy variation on pasta sauce. thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I loved it! I recently found that me and tomatoes are not getting along, so this recipe is a blessing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States