No Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I have a tomato allergy and have been researching different recipes for a while. I think this recipe is a great recipe to start with. I make mine in the slowcooker to really stew the flavors together. I've found canned pumpkin is great at cutting the sweetness, just add a spoonful at a time to taste. For replacing tomato tartness I've been experimenting with jarred capers, jarred pimentos, lemon/lime juice and vinegar. Mushrooms and bouillon can add a deeper depth of flavor. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
It's a great recipe for those, like me, who are trying to get more into their diet, the biggest problem was the vinegar. The red wine vinegar was just a little too much for my palate. I fixed this by adding a can(or maybe two for the whole thing) of Cherry Fanta soda, this cut the smell and taste tremendously and I think in the end made it taste more like the store bought tomato sauce I like. I might just replace the vinegar altogether with the soda, but that's for me. Thank you so much for making and sharing this recipe it helps so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mae Rusack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made this because my husband cannot have tomatoes because of his renal diet it is a pretty good substitute for spaghetti sauce I'm very happy I found it I added extra green pepper and extra oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This is amazingly good!! What a great tomato sauce substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I'm allergic to tomatoes and this recipe has been so amazing. I've made it twice, one with fresh carrots and once with canned. Canned is definitely better - fresh carrots made the sauce too sweet. It also needs a pretty liberal addition of salt (to taste). I also add extra oregano and basil. It also holds up really well: reheating pizza, frozen then microwaved, etc. According to a friend, much better than pumpkin-based no-tomato sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I absolutely LOVE Italian & Mexican foods, but something in the tomato causes swelling in my feet & ankles. I have had this recipe for quite a while, & I finally got around to using it this past Sunday to go over my meatloaf, and BOY-OH-BOY-OH-BOY!! Am I ever glad I did! I didn't have a bay leaf, so I added a little more Italian Seasoning, tweaked my seasonings (a pinch of sugar, a dash of hot sauce, & a splash of Sweet Chili sauce)...it made quite a bit (enough so that turned around & used the leftovers & made spaghetti for the next nite!) I will most DEFINITELY be tweaking the Italian Seasonings & using my favorite Mexican seasonings (chili powder, cumin, & Adobe) to make some homemade chili within the next few weeks! I did take a picture of the meatloaf when it was done..at work right now, so I will upload it later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeGuru

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
It's sweet and a nice change of pace. We were checking our family for salicalyte sp?) intollerances and needed a tomato free spaghetti sauce. Its a bold pink color and ppl watching you reheat and eat your leftovers are gonna give you funny looks but I truthfully didnt mind it. I could go either way, traditional or beet sauce. We call it 'Beetsghetti' at our house and even the kids like it. Great way to sneak in new flavours in a familiar way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I stumbled across a similar recipe after finding out my son and I were allergic to tomatoes. I use cider vinegar instead of the red wine vinegar and oregano, basil, onion powder, parsley and thyme instead of Italian seasoning. I also use the main ingredients (beets, carrots, and vinegar) with different spices to make ketchup, barbeque sauce, salsa, sloppy joes and chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
need to add broth and more veggies, but other then that it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I loved it! I recently found that me and tomatoes are not getting along, so this recipe is a blessing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States