No Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
wow this sauce is actually quite delicious. I normally hate beets but i made this for my bf who hates tomato sauce. To my surprise i really likes this sauce too. The vinegar help to cut the sweetness quite well (the sweetness is what i hate about beets). Overall this is a very good and healthy variation on pasta sauce. thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I can't eat red tomatoes and have been looking for alternatives to Alfredo and pesto sauce for quite a while. I really liked this recipe. It mimicked "red" sauce so well, I had to train my brain that it was ok to eat :) it came out a little too thick, but I think that was because I used fresh carrots instead of canned. My husband (the anti-vegetarian) and my picky teen even tried it and liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
What a great idea! This was delicious. I used garden beets and fresh carrots (steamed then cooked w/ spices then pureed) and added about 3/4 c cooked red lentils for protein (you can't taste them but they make for a filling meal). Had to add about 1/2 c water for consistency. I used rice vinegar as didn't have the other -- served wi/ veggie pasta and a side of kale, a sprinkle of old cheddar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Delicious and a great substitute for a tomato sauce. I agree with the others: add vegetable broth to make it more sauce-like, otherwise it seemed too thick to me. I also added chopped fresh basil, which I think added extra flavor. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I would rate this a 5* for flavor, however the consistency is more like a tomato paste. I added a bit of water to thin it, but I would recommend a bit of vegetable broth, which I didn't have on hand. My grandson is allergic to tomatoes, so this was a real treat to fix for him so that he could have spaghetti with the rest of the family. Great recipe, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
wonderful can't get enough! no acid reflux at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
What a wonderful recipe - I was recently told to stay away from tomatoes and was missing the Italian foods that my family seems to survive on! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I was really excited to find this recipe since my girlfriend is allergic to tomatoes. The first time I made it, it was a little more pasty than saucy. The next time I made it I added in some roasted red bell pepper (from the jar, blended), a little vegetable broth, and pepper. This made it more saucy and tasty! So thankful to have a tomato sauce substitute, and cheap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I am allergic to tomatoes and this recipe is wonderful. My husband and both my kids liked it too. I can finally have pizza with sauce and make lasagna again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States