No Sugar Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ronja Pilz
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Really good granulated-sugar-free cookies. They turned out really well with only one cup of raisins. Next time I might try running the raisin-apple mixture through a food processor before adding to the dough, because I thought the little sweetness as it is was very unevenly distributed by using the raisins whole. But I'll definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Awesome! I followed other reviewers suggestions and used 1 cup raisens, 1 whole apple, chopped small, and 1/4 t. Cinnamon. I also boiled raisen/apples a few minutes longer. Baked about 15 minutes. Made 3 dozen. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Very yummy, especially 1 day later! I would recommend calling these something other than "cookies" because they do not taste like cookies - they are more like muffins or just a hearty snack. I changed the recipe by using peanut butter (freshly ground so no sugar) instead of butter, using 2 small apples, 1 fresh banana, and extra spices, and more vanilla. I cook them in muffin pans which creates a good shape. Also, I did not refrigerate the dough before baking. These taste great and are very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
These were really good for having no sugar in them. My kids loved them! I only rated in 3 stars however because there are some changes i made, and some additional changes I would make. I reduced the raisins to 1c, and added a whole cup of finely chopped apples. I also added about 2tsp of cinnamon. Next time I make these, and it will be soon, I am adding dried cranberries along with the raisins and also replacing the water with unsweetened apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lebrun family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
These are great! I only used 1 cup of raisens & the whole apple chopped, which was probably closer to 1 cup than 1/2. Used 1/4 cup Smart Balance & 1/4 cup Canola Oil. Used Whole Wheat flour instead & added 1 tsp Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp Nutmeg & 1/2 tsp NOW liquid Stevia (good brand). Put in a full cup of chopped walnuts. Made it a delicious & healthy cookie for my 2 & 3 yr olds....they loved 'em! (hubby, too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I am pregnant and really watching my sugar intake. These were wonderful and a surprise. I expected them to be bland, but instead they were yummy and tasted like raisin oatmeal. My teenagers gobbled them, my husband loved them and my toddler also thought they were yummy. Great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busyoregonmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I ended up making these with all apples instead of raisins and a generous amount of cinnamon by the suggestion of other reviewers. These are AMAZING and I'm not usually one to like no-sugar sweets. I think maybe next time I'll add all-natural apple juice instead of water and a bit more cinnamon, nutmeg, and ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeBrigade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
We really enjoyed these cookies. Since there's no added sugar, I feel good giving them to my toddler as a snack and she just gobbles them up. I also did 1 C. raisins and that was more than enough. I added 1 t. cinnamon and 1/2 t. nutmeg, which added some extra flavor. I'll do a touch more cinnamon next time. I didn't chill the dough for eight hours, either. I put the bowl of dough in the freezer for about 10 minutes while the oven preheated, and then put it back in the freezer while each batch baked. They took exactly 12 minutes per batch and were nice and soft. I think I'll also try grating the apples with a box grater next time to save the chopping time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I skipped the chilling and poured hot apple-raisinmixture over dry ingredients. I had to bake cookies over half an hour, but that taste... Yum. Nutty and enough raisins, and i used about a cup of apples (harvesting going on). Next time I could try to add cardamon or cinnamon, and probably use more oat flakes (and a little it less flours). I've already frozen chopped apple to be used in these cookies and muffins. My father isn't anyhow fond of low-sugar cookies, but I didn't mention anything about the sugar in these and he really praised . :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Espoo, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
It was a great health cookie. I changed a few things. I only put in 1 cup of raisins. I added 1 medium apple, peanut butter instead of butter, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4-1/2 C of chocolate chips. I baked 1/2 of the batch right away and then waited 8 hours for the rest. I recommend cooking them right away. Otherwise they tasted dry and blah. Also I flattened them into patties before baking. Even with adding the chocolate chips it was less sugar over all than your typical cookie. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States