No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
I served this to my family for Thanksgiving, including my father who is diabetic, and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
Excellent recipe! You can actually taste the apples instead of the sugar. Use Granny Smith or Macintosh apples for tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I have made this recipe since Thanksgiving 4 times. I did not use a top crust *saves time* and on some I added chopped walnuts on top. Pecans would probably make an excellent topper but boy! they are expensive. The amount of apples are not critical I use about 10-12 Granny Smith apples and make two at a time. My DH can not eat sugar and likes more Splenda in his. My daughter who can eat sugar loves this pie. I feel good about this desert being it is made with so many fresh apples. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEVADA753

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I simmered the granny smith apples for about 5 minutes & used Langer's frozen apple juice (11.5 oz.) which was labeled as having no added sugar. I made my own thin graham cracker crust, omitted the top crust, & topped the pie with chopped walnuts, as one reviewer suggested. The pie didn't have any artificial sugar aftertaste as the sweetener is apple juice. I wasn't sure about adding 3 Tbsp of cornstarch as I'd seen recipes with less but the consistency was fine. I made this for Father's Day for my diabetic dad and everyone loved it. My sister pronounced it "perfect" & asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I think this pie is perfect. My girls made it for my dad who is diabetic. He loves it. Now we make two for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
A wonderful "no sugar added" recipe. I've made this many times and it's always a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is my favorite apple pie. It allows the apples true flavor to shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
My family loved it. I used a combination of granny smith and pink lady apples. I intend to use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is my apple pie from now on. With "Best Ever Pie Crust", it's a hard combination to beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I just made this and have to say--this apple pie is genius! Seriously, it is unbelievably good. I used a homemade pie crust (but just one--I made a crust by sprinkling pecans on the top), used 5 Granny Smith apples (which I let simmer on the stove for about 20-30 minutes), and 2 tbsps of cinnamon instead of 1. This is one of the best apple pies I have ever had! You don't miss the sugar at all--it tastes perfectly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States