No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Made this for my diabetic dad who said it was great, but this is NOT a 'no sugar' apple pie. It's a 'no sugar ADDED' apple pie. The no sugar added apple concentrate had 28 grams of sugar! I used granny smith apples, because they are less sweet. I will keep looking for another recipe that has less sugar overall. By mistake, I made the concentrate/cornstarch mixture first, before peeling the apples, and then afterwards it was goopy and did not mix well into the rest of the mixture, but had it been done right it would have made a really nice gooey pie. Actually my dad just checked his blood sugar and it's really high!!!! Stay away, diabetics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I simmered the granny smith apples for about 5 minutes & used Langer's frozen apple juice (11.5 oz.) which was labeled as having no added sugar. I made my own thin graham cracker crust, omitted the top crust, & topped the pie with chopped walnuts, as one reviewer suggested. The pie didn't have any artificial sugar aftertaste as the sweetener is apple juice. I wasn't sure about adding 3 Tbsp of cornstarch as I'd seen recipes with less but the consistency was fine. I made this for Father's Day for my diabetic dad and everyone loved it. My sister pronounced it "perfect" & asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
I served this to my family for Thanksgiving, including my father who is diabetic, and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I just made this and have to say--this apple pie is genius! Seriously, it is unbelievably good. I used a homemade pie crust (but just one--I made a crust by sprinkling pecans on the top), used 5 Granny Smith apples (which I let simmer on the stove for about 20-30 minutes), and 2 tbsps of cinnamon instead of 1. This is one of the best apple pies I have ever had! You don't miss the sugar at all--it tastes perfectly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I used bottled apple juice and boiled it down until double because I didn't have any frozen. I also used a whole wheat pie crust. I thought it tasted great. So did my husband. But unfortunately, he is diabetic and it was too rich for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma_beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is my apple pie from now on. With "Best Ever Pie Crust", it's a hard combination to beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
A wonderful "no sugar added" recipe. I've made this many times and it's always a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I think this pie is perfect. My girls made it for my dad who is diabetic. He loves it. Now we make two for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I'm giving a 5 rating with the consideration that this apple pie doesn't use refined sugars. This apple obviously doesn't have the sweetness of traditional apple pie, so don't kid yourselves. If you want that "real" apple pie taste, then you'll have to add white and brown sugar. That's just the way it is. Enjoy everything in moderation. I sound bitter, but I really do like this apple pie. It just has a different taste and texture from traditional apple pie. I added an extra 1-1/2 tbs cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg to add more apple pie flavorings. I'd definitely recommend trying this recipe, but remember that this isn't the same thing as an apple pie with 2 cups of sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yokidneybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
My grandmother is a diabetic and I bake this every time I visit for her. My grandfather has a MAJOR sweet tooth, and I wasn't sure if he would like it or not. HE LOVED IT! He ate the whole pie last time! It's a bit runny, but that's expected. I wasn't prepared for that the first time I made it. Make sure you put a pan underneath it to catch any overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States