No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Amazing! I didn't have the concentrate so used sugar free apple sauce instead and only made a top crust, cobler style. Next time I'll probably add a tablespoon or so of agave. Hubby loved it too, mm mm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
LOVED this pie!!! Super simple and super delicious. Made it this weekend with apples freshly picked at a local orchard. I'll be sharing this recipe with everyone. Who knew you could get such wonderful flavors without all that sugar and butter you'll find in other pie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is very good. I add a little ground ginger and nutmeg and saute the apples in butter lightly before I add them to the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
yyyyyyyyyyyyyyuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I'm giving a 5 rating with the consideration that this apple pie doesn't use refined sugars. This apple obviously doesn't have the sweetness of traditional apple pie, so don't kid yourselves. If you want that "real" apple pie taste, then you'll have to add white and brown sugar. That's just the way it is. Enjoy everything in moderation. I sound bitter, but I really do like this apple pie. It just has a different taste and texture from traditional apple pie. I added an extra 1-1/2 tbs cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg to add more apple pie flavorings. I'd definitely recommend trying this recipe, but remember that this isn't the same thing as an apple pie with 2 cups of sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yokidneybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I made this for a diabetic friend as a treat, but we all loved it!! I loved the fact that it has no artificial sweetner that would give it a fake taste. I only cooked the apples in the juice a little, so they were not mushA previous reviewer said that the no sugar added apple juice concentrate had a lot of sugar, it is the natural sugar of the apple, not white sugar or high fructose corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
My grandmother is a diabetic and I bake this every time I visit for her. My grandfather has a MAJOR sweet tooth, and I wasn't sure if he would like it or not. HE LOVED IT! He ate the whole pie last time! It's a bit runny, but that's expected. I wasn't prepared for that the first time I made it. Make sure you put a pan underneath it to catch any overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I just made this and have to say--this apple pie is genius! Seriously, it is unbelievably good. I used a homemade pie crust (but just one--I made a crust by sprinkling pecans on the top), used 5 Granny Smith apples (which I let simmer on the stove for about 20-30 minutes), and 2 tbsps of cinnamon instead of 1. This is one of the best apple pies I have ever had! You don't miss the sugar at all--it tastes perfectly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is my apple pie from now on. With "Best Ever Pie Crust", it's a hard combination to beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
My family loved it. I used a combination of granny smith and pink lady apples. I intend to use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States