No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Fruit has natural sugars in it. There is no sugar added to the ingredients of the pie, the only sugar is the natural sugar in the apples themselves. this is a very good, natural tasting diabetic friendly apple pie that your diabetic family members will LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
First of all this ought to be called cinnamon apple pie . . . 1 Tbsp of cinnamon, get real. 1 TSP is too much. Plus 12 oz of concentrated apple juice is a lot of sugar. Plus cornstarch isn't much better than sugar for promoting insulin response. Last of all the pie filling cries out for butter to cut the acridity. My recommendations: 1) 6 oz of juice concentrate instead of 12 and cut the cornstarch in half 2) 1 Tbsp of golden peach allfruit 3) 1/2 TSP of cinnamon 4) 1/4 stick (minimum) of butter added to the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made the pie and it was great except it was very runny. Tasted great! Does anyone know what to do to make it less runny? Should I use less apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made this at Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. My husband is diabetic and usually cannot partake in desserts. I used a graham cracker crust instead of dough to try and cut down on the sugar further. For the top I mixed walnuts and cinnamon in a bowl with a small amount of butter. It made a crumble-like topping which was excellent and low sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This pie was delicious! I made my own pie crust (2/3 c. canola oil, 2 c flour, 6 T ice water, 1 pkt Stevia in the Raw, dash of cinnamon). The first time I made this I took it over to a friend's house. She has a Type 1 diabetic son and he was able to have some, which I was happy about. I am sure the natural sugar and carbs in this affects a diabetics numbers but at least there is no added sugar. I did change from 1 T cinnamon to 1 T apple pie spice (I find too much cinnamon a bit offensive). Other than that, changed nothing and it turned out so good that I will start using this pie recipe over the touted Apple Pie by Grandma Ople that is on here that everyone raves about (I made it once with just ok results). This pie is my new go to apple pie recipe, sugar free or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
this pie is loved by all and my granddaughter always asks for it.. thank you for a diabetic friendly sweet treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was fantastic! I brought this pie for Thanksgiving, and no one could pinpoint the missing sugar. In fact, everyone raved about how great it was and how they could actually taste the apple. I used organic Fuji apples instead of Granny Smith because it's what I had on hand. Also, I didn't have the apple juice concentrate, so I reduced organic, unsweetened apple juice by half. This is my new apple pie recipe, period!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is outstanding! I will use only this recipe for apple pie from now on! You cannot tell that there is no sugar added to this pie! It was gorgeous, easy and delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Superb. I do not like pie until now I live this pie! Added extra cinnamon. Made own crust with flour, canola oil, ice water. The crust was so exquisite! Nuked it later and still great tasting! Usedgolden n delicious apples. A must try! Daniel diet acceptable :) for the sugar cravings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
It is a great apple pie recipe that has the sweetness only from the apples and applejuice concentrate. I don't feel as guilty after indulging in this recipe. My family also loved it and couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eliot, Maine, USA
Living In: Tallassee, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States