No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
I served this to my family for Thanksgiving, including my father who is diabetic, and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
Excellent recipe! You can actually taste the apples instead of the sugar. Use Granny Smith or Macintosh apples for tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I have made this recipe since Thanksgiving 4 times. I did not use a top crust *saves time* and on some I added chopped walnuts on top. Pecans would probably make an excellent topper but boy! they are expensive. The amount of apples are not critical I use about 10-12 Granny Smith apples and make two at a time. My DH can not eat sugar and likes more Splenda in his. My daughter who can eat sugar loves this pie. I feel good about this desert being it is made with so many fresh apples. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEVADA753

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I simmered the granny smith apples for about 5 minutes & used Langer's frozen apple juice (11.5 oz.) which was labeled as having no added sugar. I made my own thin graham cracker crust, omitted the top crust, & topped the pie with chopped walnuts, as one reviewer suggested. The pie didn't have any artificial sugar aftertaste as the sweetener is apple juice. I wasn't sure about adding 3 Tbsp of cornstarch as I'd seen recipes with less but the consistency was fine. I made this for Father's Day for my diabetic dad and everyone loved it. My sister pronounced it "perfect" & asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Made this for my diabetic dad who said it was great, but this is NOT a 'no sugar' apple pie. It's a 'no sugar ADDED' apple pie. The no sugar added apple concentrate had 28 grams of sugar! I used granny smith apples, because they are less sweet. I will keep looking for another recipe that has less sugar overall. By mistake, I made the concentrate/cornstarch mixture first, before peeling the apples, and then afterwards it was goopy and did not mix well into the rest of the mixture, but had it been done right it would have made a really nice gooey pie. Actually my dad just checked his blood sugar and it's really high!!!! Stay away, diabetics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I used bottled apple juice and boiled it down until double because I didn't have any frozen. I also used a whole wheat pie crust. I thought it tasted great. So did my husband. But unfortunately, he is diabetic and it was too rich for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma_beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I think this pie is perfect. My girls made it for my dad who is diabetic. He loves it. Now we make two for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
A wonderful "no sugar added" recipe. I've made this many times and it's always a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is my favorite apple pie. It allows the apples true flavor to shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
As usual I wanted to try something a little different than the "old tried and true". This came through for me. I was courious how the apple juice would work in this recipe and it sweetened nicely. I would back off the cinnamon to one teaspoon or so; it was too much for our taste and I used golden delicious apples. I believe it's worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: New Hamburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States