No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I didn't want to cook my apples twice because I like my apples very chunky, so I thickened the entire can of apple juice with the cornstarch and stirred in it cinnamon. I put the apples in the crust and just glopped the apple concentrate mixture on top and then covered it with the top crust. I baked it for 1 hour at 350 and it turned out wonderful. So if you don't want mushy apples, that is a good way to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Carolyn, I am SOOOOO picky when it comes to apple pie. In fact, I only like my mom's! Hers is the standard I measure by. Well, my aunt came to visit us last night from another state, and she is diabetic, so I skeptically looked up no-sugar-added recipes. I saw how great your reviews were, so I decided to make it. FANTASTIC! Just as the other comments said, not only did she like it, so did everyone else! My dad and husband are just as loyal to my mom's apple pie as me, but they both said this was AWESOME! I hope you have more recipes like this one :) Note: I used my Mom's "Never Fail Pie Crust" recipe, which is the BEST. I will post it on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Hensley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
Yummy. This turned out great. The only thing is my Husband is a diabetic and the concentrated juice is also considered a very high sugar so I decided to try it with just regular apple juice and it still turned out great. Oh ya I also used Mac Apples instead of green ones (green ones are a little too tart for me). Thanks for the recipe. I'm going to try it with other fruits!! I also made sure to put it into a cholesterol free pie crust so it was low in cholesterol too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This pie tastes good, but I don't believe it is a very wise choice for diabetics. At 53.7g of carbs per serving, a diabetic might as well have a couple of chocolate bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I'd love to give this 5 stars for not using butter in the filling, but while it was good for a healthier recipe, it didn't wow me. I used super sweet Fuji apples instead of Granny Smiths, and I'm glad I did because the pie was a bit tart even with the sweeter apples. FYI: the body metabolizes fructose (fruit sugar) the same way as sucrose (table sugar). So while BOTH INCREASE BLOOD SUGAR, fructose is generally preferred because they usually come along with good stuff like fiber and vitamins, while things made sugar are usually processed and lacking nutritional value (i.e., apples vs cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I love this apple pie. I make it with apple cider instead of apple concentrate, and it is awesome! My entire family begs for it. Just be careful of the amount of apple cider, or the pie will boil over like crazy. Cook it on a cookie sheet. This is the only apply pie that I make now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Fantastic!!!! This is the best sugar free dessert I have ever eaten!!! increase the cinnamon or add nutmeg for an extra punch of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This is a fantastic recipe! I made it initially some time last year, in the fall, and I've not used another recipe since. Everybody who's ever tried this has given it rave reviews, and I love it so much that this is my default pie. (I've made it at least 15 times!) I bake it every one to two weeks, and it barely lasts a couple days, at most. I usually try and use at least three different types of apples, but always at least two. This adds to the flavor of the pie. I always use Granny Smith, and either Jonagold or Empire, or both. I also add more cinnamon, at least half a tablespoon more. Delicious pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I was very sceptical in making this pie at first. I was sure it was going to be too sour because of the lack of sugar. But it is amazing how wrong i was! My mom who usually always wants things extra sweet, said that it was the perfect pie! My family couldn't believe that it had no sugar in it! I used no sugar added granny smith apple cocentrate, and granny smith and royal gala apples for the filling. When filling the crust with the apples , make sure to remove the apples from the syrup, because if you add too much syrup in with them, it will leak a lot while baking. I used the best ever pie crust recipe on this site. Very easy to make and turned out great! Thank you for this recipe, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I was leary of making this pie since there was no sugar, but the taste was great. I used golden delicious apples and added a little more cinnamon and threw in some nutmeg too. Turned out great, we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States