No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This is a fantastic recipe! I made it initially some time last year, in the fall, and I've not used another recipe since. Everybody who's ever tried this has given it rave reviews, and I love it so much that this is my default pie. (I've made it at least 15 times!) I bake it every one to two weeks, and it barely lasts a couple days, at most. I usually try and use at least three different types of apples, but always at least two. This adds to the flavor of the pie. I always use Granny Smith, and either Jonagold or Empire, or both. I also add more cinnamon, at least half a tablespoon more. Delicious pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I love this because it's sugarless. my father is a diabetic, so i'm trying to be careful in consuming sugar. i added the cinnamon, and threw in a cup of raisins, and believe it or not, i feel i have a ton of energy breakfasting with this than with regular bread. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Fantastic!!! I did mine open-faced in a deepdish pie crust using red delicious apples and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA
Living In: Milton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This recipe was just what I was looking for. I don't care for most apple pies because I find that they are too sweet. Then a few years ago I tried a sugar free apple pie from my local market. I was in love. However I was not in love with the price they were charging for the pie not that it was not always available when I wanted it. So I came looking here for a recipe. This pie tastes great. My mom is not much of a sweet tooth and she fell in love with it. And best of all it was so easy to make. My first attempt produced a gorgous pie that I got rave reviews for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I got rave reviews for this pie from my Dad who eats absolutely no sugar due to his diabetes. And it tasted amazing even to me. It's not goopy like store bought apple pies and definitely isn't too tart. The only thing I'd recommend is adding more cinnamon to taste. I did and it turned out really well! The best of my Xmas baking this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was my first try a baking an apple pie. I like the fact that it is low in sugars. I did use golden delicious apples. I and anyone else who tried this could not tell is was low in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Terrible. NO taste. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
Yummy. This turned out great. The only thing is my Husband is a diabetic and the concentrated juice is also considered a very high sugar so I decided to try it with just regular apple juice and it still turned out great. Oh ya I also used Mac Apples instead of green ones (green ones are a little too tart for me). Thanks for the recipe. I'm going to try it with other fruits!! I also made sure to put it into a cholesterol free pie crust so it was low in cholesterol too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
The pie was easy to make and it wasn't that bad but to me, the pie was really really sour. I'll assume it was the green apples and lack of sugar. I'll try this again but I think I'll use some green apples and some other type of apples. (I like it because my dad always says to add less sugar so now I can say I don't add any other sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This pie tastes good, but I don't believe it is a very wise choice for diabetics. At 53.7g of carbs per serving, a diabetic might as well have a couple of chocolate bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States