No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I was looking for a different way to bake an apple pie than the "traditional" butter way. I think I found my new recipe. I used a few golden and red decilious to make my pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I didn't want to cook my apples twice because I like my apples very chunky, so I thickened the entire can of apple juice with the cornstarch and stirred in it cinnamon. I put the apples in the crust and just glopped the apple concentrate mixture on top and then covered it with the top crust. I baked it for 1 hour at 350 and it turned out wonderful. So if you don't want mushy apples, that is a good way to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I'm sorry, but this recipe was not good. My husband, who loves apple pie but doesn't eat sugar, asked me not to make this recipe again. It is way too tart. I have used a recipe from the Splenda website for years and it is so much better than this receipe. If you want a no sugar added pie I'd highly receommend the Splenda recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNH13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I love this apple pie. I make it with apple cider instead of apple concentrate, and it is awesome! My entire family begs for it. Just be careful of the amount of apple cider, or the pie will boil over like crazy. Cook it on a cookie sheet. This is the only apply pie that I make now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I was leary of making this pie since there was no sugar, but the taste was great. I used golden delicious apples and added a little more cinnamon and threw in some nutmeg too. Turned out great, we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Fantastic!!!! This is the best sugar free dessert I have ever eaten!!! increase the cinnamon or add nutmeg for an extra punch of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
My mother-in-law made this in lieu of a cake for my diabetic father-in-law's birthday. It was delicious--we did not miss the sugar at all. She used Honey Crisp apples, and the result was as sweet tasting as any apple pie I've tasted. (Although, my father-in-law pointed out that the lack of granulated sugar didn't make it much safer for him. The carbs and fruit sugars in this recipe are still of the type he regularly avoids.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Very good for a "no sugar added" apple pie. I usually add a Gala or a sweeter apple to the Granny Smith's. Much prefer it to apple pie made with a sugar substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
My step dad is diabetic and he said this was the best sugar free pie he ever had. My other family member didn't even know it was sugar free. I did try something slightly different though. I used apple/raspberry juice instead of just apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I found this pie to be extremely tart. I think next time I will use a sweeter apple than Granny Smith. Also I think I will start the oven at 450 for a few minutes and then lower to 350 because the crust I make has a lot of shortening and it did not crisp up and brown sufficently. The recipe with the nuts on top sounds better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States