No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I love this apple pie. I make it with apple cider instead of apple concentrate, and it is awesome! My entire family begs for it. Just be careful of the amount of apple cider, or the pie will boil over like crazy. Cook it on a cookie sheet. This is the only apply pie that I make now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I was leary of making this pie since there was no sugar, but the taste was great. I used golden delicious apples and added a little more cinnamon and threw in some nutmeg too. Turned out great, we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Fantastic!!!! This is the best sugar free dessert I have ever eaten!!! increase the cinnamon or add nutmeg for an extra punch of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
My mother-in-law made this in lieu of a cake for my diabetic father-in-law's birthday. It was delicious--we did not miss the sugar at all. She used Honey Crisp apples, and the result was as sweet tasting as any apple pie I've tasted. (Although, my father-in-law pointed out that the lack of granulated sugar didn't make it much safer for him. The carbs and fruit sugars in this recipe are still of the type he regularly avoids.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Very good for a "no sugar added" apple pie. I usually add a Gala or a sweeter apple to the Granny Smith's. Much prefer it to apple pie made with a sugar substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
My step dad is diabetic and he said this was the best sugar free pie he ever had. My other family member didn't even know it was sugar free. I did try something slightly different though. I used apple/raspberry juice instead of just apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I found this pie to be extremely tart. I think next time I will use a sweeter apple than Granny Smith. Also I think I will start the oven at 450 for a few minutes and then lower to 350 because the crust I make has a lot of shortening and it did not crisp up and brown sufficently. The recipe with the nuts on top sounds better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I was very sceptical in making this pie at first. I was sure it was going to be too sour because of the lack of sugar. But it is amazing how wrong i was! My mom who usually always wants things extra sweet, said that it was the perfect pie! My family couldn't believe that it had no sugar in it! I used no sugar added granny smith apple cocentrate, and granny smith and royal gala apples for the filling. When filling the crust with the apples , make sure to remove the apples from the syrup, because if you add too much syrup in with them, it will leak a lot while baking. I used the best ever pie crust recipe on this site. Very easy to make and turned out great! Thank you for this recipe, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by poofietomato
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Wow! This recipe is awesome. I used the Pie Crust III recipe (found on this site) and made a lattice design for this pie. To cut the sugar even more, I used regular apple juice and it turned out fine. I didn't have any green apples, so I used Fuji apples instead. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was good. I used Gala apples. I will probably bake it longer next time to brown the crust more and make it a little more "crusty". The crust was too soft, top and bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States