No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
the flavor in this pie was wonderful, just because theres no sugar in it doesn`t mean your skimping on quality. I did add an extra 2 cups of apples for the second pie, because with only 6 cups, i felt like my apple pie was totally flat and waaay too liquady....also, only simmer your apples until they START to get tender, or else you`ll have mush. Great recipes overall, with the changes, i`ll be making more pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is delicious--but the "no sugar added" title is a bit misleading, it's very sweet! It almost put my diabetic father in a coma, but the rest of the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I'd love to give this 5 stars for not using butter in the filling, but while it was good for a healthier recipe, it didn't wow me. I used super sweet Fuji apples instead of Granny Smiths, and I'm glad I did because the pie was a bit tart even with the sweeter apples. FYI: the body metabolizes fructose (fruit sugar) the same way as sucrose (table sugar). So while BOTH INCREASE BLOOD SUGAR, fructose is generally preferred because they usually come along with good stuff like fiber and vitamins, while things made sugar are usually processed and lacking nutritional value (i.e., apples vs cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
it was a little tart for me so i put a half cup of splenda sugar and the flavor balanced well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
The taste is fine, but this recipe is neither "no sugar" nor is it suitable for diabetics. The apple juice concentrate adds a tremendous amount of sugar to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was a great dessert. The whole family loved it. I'm a gastric bypass patient so I can't have suger. This is a perfect dessert also for diabetics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I loved it! Since my Husband is diabetic, I had to make an alteration. I used sugar-free lemonade mix and more cornstarch to thicken it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was great. I thought the lack of sugar would affect the taste, but my husband, who is a sugar fiend, did not notice and loved it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
my coworkers loved this pie. everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by down2earthtami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I made this for my co-workers, one of which and diabetic, and everyone thought it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States