No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
The taste is fine, but this recipe is neither "no sugar" nor is it suitable for diabetics. The apple juice concentrate adds a tremendous amount of sugar to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was a great dessert. The whole family loved it. I'm a gastric bypass patient so I can't have suger. This is a perfect dessert also for diabetics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I loved it! Since my Husband is diabetic, I had to make an alteration. I used sugar-free lemonade mix and more cornstarch to thicken it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was great. I thought the lack of sugar would affect the taste, but my husband, who is a sugar fiend, did not notice and loved it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
my coworkers loved this pie. everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by down2earthtami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I made this for my co-workers, one of which and diabetic, and everyone thought it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I try to avoid refined sugars and can't have butter, so this is the apple pie recipe I use, and it is delicious! I've found that I like it much better cold than warm out of the oven. As some others have pointed out, the "no sugar" title can be misleading. This pie is still high in sugar; it's a natural sugar from the fruit juice, so it's good for people trying to avoid refined sugars, but I don't think this would be a good choice for diabetics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This is easy as pie and it's rather good. Two pieces did cause the blood sugar to climb however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
To make this truly "no sugar" I juiced 4 large apples instead of concentrate. I mixed Golden Delicious and MacIntosh(use all Golden Delicious for a sweeter pie), added nutmeg and a dash of allspice to the cinnamon. My diabetic SO says this is his new favorite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
My FIL is diabetic and I wanted a dessert he could enjoy for Christmas, but I was sooo nervous about this because I've never made a pie before and without the sugar I just wasn't sure how this would turn out. I had no need to worry, this pie was simple and tasted delicious. Without the extra sugar, all the flavor of the apples really comes out. I tried half Granny Smith and half Golden Delicious, but since my husband said he liked the sweeter pie (he was the only one) I might try all sweet apples next time. BTW, I tried the variation one of the other reviewers suggested... not pre-cooking the apples and sauce and baking the pie for 1 hour. I was happy with the firmness of the apples but the sauce just cooked in a big clump on the bottom. From now on I will at least thicken up the sauce before pouring over the apples and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States