No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I made this pie as well as a sugar-added pie. this one was more of a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerjanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Amazingly sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Apple pie is my favorite dessert *ever,* and now that I no longer eat cane sugar, I'm thrilled to find a recipe that will allow me to still eat it! I've been experimenting with this recipe for about a year now, using it as a springboard for my personal perfect apple pie :) I use about eight red delicious apples - as sweet and good quality as I can find (you're not adding cane sugar to compensate for the tartness of green apples, so sweet is better). Make sure you slice the apples nice and thin, lots of surface area. 4 Tbs tapioca instead of 3 Tbs cornstarch - I prefer the flavor of tapioca. Two Tbs cinnamon and a heaping tsp of nutmeg, because I like a lot of spice in my pie. Also, I add about half a tablespoon of clover honey - that little bit of flavor just sets off the taste *perfectly.* This pie is good the night it's made, and *heavenly* the next day after the flavors have had a chance to meld. Also makes a very nice cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
To my surprise I didn't miss the sugar at all! The first piece that I cut was a soupy mess but after sitting for almost 24 hours it had thickened up a little. This was quite good considering how few ingredients are required. Thanks to others for suggesting cooking this on top of a cookie sheet, that saved my oven from the sticky pool of juice that leaked everywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Delicious! I have given this recipe to everyone I know that bakes and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was an excellent pie. I served it as dessert at a card game for some elderly women, many of which are diabetic. They loved it. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used 5 Granny apples and a nut top crust, the rest of the ingredients were the same as listed. Everyone loved it. I served it with sugarfree vanilla ice-cream. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I used unfiltered apple juice instead of the concentrate, which was recommended by another user. It gave too much apple juice flavour for me. I would try it again, but change it up with some brown sugar added and some other spices like nutmeg. Perhaps this is a good base for some experiments???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
the flavor in this pie was wonderful, just because theres no sugar in it doesn`t mean your skimping on quality. I did add an extra 2 cups of apples for the second pie, because with only 6 cups, i felt like my apple pie was totally flat and waaay too liquady....also, only simmer your apples until they START to get tender, or else you`ll have mush. Great recipes overall, with the changes, i`ll be making more pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is delicious--but the "no sugar added" title is a bit misleading, it's very sweet! It almost put my diabetic father in a coma, but the rest of the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I'd love to give this 5 stars for not using butter in the filling, but while it was good for a healthier recipe, it didn't wow me. I used super sweet Fuji apples instead of Granny Smiths, and I'm glad I did because the pie was a bit tart even with the sweeter apples. FYI: the body metabolizes fructose (fruit sugar) the same way as sucrose (table sugar). So while BOTH INCREASE BLOOD SUGAR, fructose is generally preferred because they usually come along with good stuff like fiber and vitamins, while things made sugar are usually processed and lacking nutritional value (i.e., apples vs cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States