No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I found this pie to be extremely tart. I think next time I will use a sweeter apple than Granny Smith. Also I think I will start the oven at 450 for a few minutes and then lower to 350 because the crust I make has a lot of shortening and it did not crisp up and brown sufficently. The recipe with the nuts on top sounds better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I was very sceptical in making this pie at first. I was sure it was going to be too sour because of the lack of sugar. But it is amazing how wrong i was! My mom who usually always wants things extra sweet, said that it was the perfect pie! My family couldn't believe that it had no sugar in it! I used no sugar added granny smith apple cocentrate, and granny smith and royal gala apples for the filling. When filling the crust with the apples , make sure to remove the apples from the syrup, because if you add too much syrup in with them, it will leak a lot while baking. I used the best ever pie crust recipe on this site. Very easy to make and turned out great! Thank you for this recipe, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by poofietomato
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Wow! This recipe is awesome. I used the Pie Crust III recipe (found on this site) and made a lattice design for this pie. To cut the sugar even more, I used regular apple juice and it turned out fine. I didn't have any green apples, so I used Fuji apples instead. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was good. I used Gala apples. I will probably bake it longer next time to brown the crust more and make it a little more "crusty". The crust was too soft, top and bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This is a fantastic recipe! I made it initially some time last year, in the fall, and I've not used another recipe since. Everybody who's ever tried this has given it rave reviews, and I love it so much that this is my default pie. (I've made it at least 15 times!) I bake it every one to two weeks, and it barely lasts a couple days, at most. I usually try and use at least three different types of apples, but always at least two. This adds to the flavor of the pie. I always use Granny Smith, and either Jonagold or Empire, or both. I also add more cinnamon, at least half a tablespoon more. Delicious pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I love this because it's sugarless. my father is a diabetic, so i'm trying to be careful in consuming sugar. i added the cinnamon, and threw in a cup of raisins, and believe it or not, i feel i have a ton of energy breakfasting with this than with regular bread. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Fantastic!!! I did mine open-faced in a deepdish pie crust using red delicious apples and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA
Living In: Milton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This recipe was just what I was looking for. I don't care for most apple pies because I find that they are too sweet. Then a few years ago I tried a sugar free apple pie from my local market. I was in love. However I was not in love with the price they were charging for the pie not that it was not always available when I wanted it. So I came looking here for a recipe. This pie tastes great. My mom is not much of a sweet tooth and she fell in love with it. And best of all it was so easy to make. My first attempt produced a gorgous pie that I got rave reviews for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I got rave reviews for this pie from my Dad who eats absolutely no sugar due to his diabetes. And it tasted amazing even to me. It's not goopy like store bought apple pies and definitely isn't too tart. The only thing I'd recommend is adding more cinnamon to taste. I did and it turned out really well! The best of my Xmas baking this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was my first try a baking an apple pie. I like the fact that it is low in sugars. I did use golden delicious apples. I and anyone else who tried this could not tell is was low in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States