No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
my coworkers loved this pie. everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by down2earthtami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I made this for my co-workers, one of which and diabetic, and everyone thought it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I try to avoid refined sugars and can't have butter, so this is the apple pie recipe I use, and it is delicious! I've found that I like it much better cold than warm out of the oven. As some others have pointed out, the "no sugar" title can be misleading. This pie is still high in sugar; it's a natural sugar from the fruit juice, so it's good for people trying to avoid refined sugars, but I don't think this would be a good choice for diabetics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This is easy as pie and it's rather good. Two pieces did cause the blood sugar to climb however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
To make this truly "no sugar" I juiced 4 large apples instead of concentrate. I mixed Golden Delicious and MacIntosh(use all Golden Delicious for a sweeter pie), added nutmeg and a dash of allspice to the cinnamon. My diabetic SO says this is his new favorite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
My FIL is diabetic and I wanted a dessert he could enjoy for Christmas, but I was sooo nervous about this because I've never made a pie before and without the sugar I just wasn't sure how this would turn out. I had no need to worry, this pie was simple and tasted delicious. Without the extra sugar, all the flavor of the apples really comes out. I tried half Granny Smith and half Golden Delicious, but since my husband said he liked the sweeter pie (he was the only one) I might try all sweet apples next time. BTW, I tried the variation one of the other reviewers suggested... not pre-cooking the apples and sauce and baking the pie for 1 hour. I was happy with the firmness of the apples but the sauce just cooked in a big clump on the bottom. From now on I will at least thicken up the sauce before pouring over the apples and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very good! Almost too good... I later discovered fruit juice concentrates are metabolized in the same way as refined sugars. I'll try it next time with raw apple juice or cider. The pie was a little too sweet for me, so maybe my revised version will taste more like a French tart (nothing wrong with that!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenNoodle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I was looking for a different way to bake an apple pie than the "traditional" butter way. I think I found my new recipe. I used a few golden and red decilious to make my pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I didn't want to cook my apples twice because I like my apples very chunky, so I thickened the entire can of apple juice with the cornstarch and stirred in it cinnamon. I put the apples in the crust and just glopped the apple concentrate mixture on top and then covered it with the top crust. I baked it for 1 hour at 350 and it turned out wonderful. So if you don't want mushy apples, that is a good way to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I'm sorry, but this recipe was not good. My husband, who loves apple pie but doesn't eat sugar, asked me not to make this recipe again. It is way too tart. I have used a recipe from the Splenda website for years and it is so much better than this receipe. If you want a no sugar added pie I'd highly receommend the Splenda recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNH13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States