No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This pie was SO good I couldn't believe it! I made this for a friend at my office who's hypoglycemic and not only did she love it, the whole office loved it! I don't think I'll ever make another apple pie again. After all, who needs all that sugar! THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2002
Made this for my diabetic dad who said it was great, but this is NOT a 'no sugar' apple pie. It's a 'no sugar ADDED' apple pie. The no sugar added apple concentrate had 28 grams of sugar! I used granny smith apples, because they are less sweet. I will keep looking for another recipe that has less sugar overall. By mistake, I made the concentrate/cornstarch mixture first, before peeling the apples, and then afterwards it was goopy and did not mix well into the rest of the mixture, but had it been done right it would have made a really nice gooey pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2002
I made this pie for my diabetic cousin, and it is my new favorite apple pie recipe! The filling thickened up really well, and was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
I was going to try different no sugar added pies, but I tried this first and my father in law and I love it (we're both diabetics) and I was going to try some others, but my husband pipe up and said there was no need to try anything else and he ate the rest of the pie. Thanks for thinking of us diabetics and others... Susan from S.C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
I CANNOT BELIEVE HOW WONDERFUL THIS PIE IS!!!! I MADE THE PIE FOR MY DIABETIC MOTHER, BUT FROM NOW ON IT IS MY NEW APPLE PIE RECIPE FOR THE HOLIDAYS AND ANYDAY. I COULDN'T BELIEVE HOW SWEET AND JUICY AND WONDERFUL THIS PIE WOULD BE. MOST TIMES WHEN I TRY SOMETHING MADE FOR DIABETICS OR FAT FREE THE TASTE COMES OUT BLAND OR BLAH, BUT I COULDN'T TELL THAT ANYTHING WAS MISSING FROM THIS RECIPE. IT TASTES EVEN BETTER THAN THE LOADED SUGARY APPLE PIES THAT I HAVE MADE IN THE PAST. THANK YOU SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
My diabetic mom loved it along with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
AWESOME!!! I would've never known this was sugar free! I wanted to make something special for my father who's diabetic and this was a fabulous success! I will make it again for my family! I served it with a small spoonfull of the light whipped cream on top. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
The pie is excellent. I made it for a dinner we were having with my boyfriends daughter and her family. Since he is a diabetic, I wanted a dessert that he could enjoy along with the rest of us. Everyone loved it and couldn't believe it was a NO SUGAR APPLE PIE. This one's a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
I made this for my boyfriend's brother who is diabetic. We had a BBQ and need some kind of dessert for him to eat. Everyone tasted it and thought it was one of the best apple pies they have ever had…much to my surprise cause I didn't do a very good job with presentation. My boyfriend's brother said it was the best he ever had, wanted me to give the recipe to his wife and he took what was left of the pie home! I had many requests for this recipe…I was truely shock, considering that this was the first pie I have EVER made and it was a HUGE hit with the diabetic people and people who could have had cheesecake and the other chocolate desserts!! Please try this recipe…it will wow everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I baked this pie last night for my history class dinner. Since my father is diabetic with a sweet-tooth, I wanted to serve a special treat for him and my other classmates trying to lose wight after the holidays. I must congratulate Carolyn for her wonderful recipe. Everyone loved it and there was no pie left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States