No Sugar Added Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It is my new favorite cookie with a few changes. I only used half the butter (6 Tbs instead of 12 Tbs). For the flour, I used a combination of almond meal, ground flax seed, and whole wheat instead of all purpose. I left out the walnuts and threw in some chocolate chips. It is good with chocolate chips, but the bananas make it sweet enough that it would be great with out the chocolate, too. I just gave my husband one and he LOVED it. Cutting back our sugar intake isn't going be so bad after all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I think the substitution of applesauce for the butter works great. I also added the chocolate chips and used wholewheat flour. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
My son has adverse reactions to sugar and rarely finds sugarless food appealing.He LOVES the cookies,they were a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Was hoping for more flavor, but most of the taste seemed to come from the butter. I didn't like them as a stand-alone food-- but they weren't terrible under some ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This cookie doesn't spread out, the way you plunk it on the sheet is the way it comes out. I've been subbing no sugar applesauce for the butter and adding chocolate chips. They turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
It is delicious, but the texture turned out more like a scone. This is the only reason I gave four stars. I think sugar gives cookies the crunch, so without it they become something else. I do think we often can do away with sugar. Next time I will make them as muffins or drop scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momofthreekids
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I wasn't necessarily looking for a no sugar cookie, but wanted something lower in fat or calories. I am glad I found this recipe. I made 2 slight changes. I used 1/2C butter and added 1/2C semi sweet chocolat chips. I am definitely glad I added the chocolate chips because without them they would have been a tad bland. I also have a major sweet tooth so that's why I added them. They were nice and soft and cake like in texture. I will definitely make these again and when I do I will probably add even more cinnamon just because I like a stronger cinnamon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
These were really good! I added a couple packets of Splenda. They don't look so good after a couple of days, though. The banana turns the cookies kinda brown. Luckily they usually don't last more than a day or two at my house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binkyj826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
It does not matter these cookies do not expand, or they are brown in color (that is normal for bananas!). These cookies ROCK! I made them four times in one week and they were just as awesome each time. I did end up decreasing the amount of butter but at least 25 percent and it did not compromise the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I made these last night and was disappointed in how they turned out. I experimanted by baking 3 different types. The first pan I followed the recipe exactly, other than when I was mixing it up, I ground the oats in the food processer for a finer consistency. This pan had no real cookie flavor for us. I then decided to add 1/4 cup of raisins to the cookie dough to see if that would help. The next pan I baked was better with the raisins. I still had a little bit of the dough left so I decided to add in 2 packets of splenda and see how that helped. These cookies were much better! My husband and I both liked these. I know some people don't like splenda but we use it in place of sugar often. The cookies don't flatten out while baking so you have little half-balls, don't worry about leaving much space between them on the cookie sheet. Not sure if I'll ever try these again but if I do I think I'd try adding in some cocoa along with splenda, this could be a good base to work from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States