No Sugar Added Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
These were soooo dry. I followed the recipe exactly. They didn't have a whole lot of flavor, either. Won't be trying these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Great Cookie. I added 2 TBSP of agave and unsweetened dark chocolate chips instead of nuts. The kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I can't even remember how much I adjusted this, but having this as a starting point was great. They turned out pretty tasty and the idea alone is worth four stars. My husband likened them to really good bread. Some people said scones, but after he said that I realized that they really do taste like a cakey banana bread. These are the switches I can remember (I know some of them add to the sugar content, but I just liked the idea that it was all fruit and no refined sugar or sweetener like honey or maple syrup): 1/2 C butter with 1 1/2 cup ground flax for the fat and what ended up being 1 cup of applesauce (1/2 initially & half when the batter was too thick from the flax) in place of the egg. I had read not to replace egg with applesauce in drop cookies because it would make them spread too much, so since I read they didn't spread at all, I thought I would use that flaw to my advantage--it didn't work. They still stayed the shape they were plopped in. I also ommited the walnuts and added a diced fresh peach (weird but good). Thanks for sharing; it was a fun experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Nelson-Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
After reading reviews, I was prepared to make adjustments. Good base cookie but needs more taste of banana or sugar or rasins or something. Kids liked with 2 pks of splenda and some rasins, and well, they are the reason why I bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made significant changes to this recipe. I melted 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate with 1/2 cup butter. I added about 1/2 c. peanut butter and about 3/4 cup raisins and 2 eggs instead of 1. I also used almond flour instead of the flour, but they were so wet I added 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour. I skipped the walnuts. They turned out not too sweet but quite enjoyable. Kind of cakey because of the extra egg I think. I like them and might make them again. I don't think I'd change much if I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I was tired of banana breads and muffins and decided to try these out. They're OK...like most reviewers said, more like scones than cookies but tasty enough. Nothing spectacular though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I made these last night and was disappointed in how they turned out. I experimanted by baking 3 different types. The first pan I followed the recipe exactly, other than when I was mixing it up, I ground the oats in the food processer for a finer consistency. This pan had no real cookie flavor for us. I then decided to add 1/4 cup of raisins to the cookie dough to see if that would help. The next pan I baked was better with the raisins. I still had a little bit of the dough left so I decided to add in 2 packets of splenda and see how that helped. These cookies were much better! My husband and I both liked these. I know some people don't like splenda but we use it in place of sugar often. The cookies don't flatten out while baking so you have little half-balls, don't worry about leaving much space between them on the cookie sheet. Not sure if I'll ever try these again but if I do I think I'd try adding in some cocoa along with splenda, this could be a good base to work from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Yum. I added coconut, and only 1/2 cup butter w/ 1/4 cup vanilla yogurt. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It is my new favorite cookie with a few changes. I only used half the butter (6 Tbs instead of 12 Tbs). For the flour, I used a combination of almond meal, ground flax seed, and whole wheat instead of all purpose. I left out the walnuts and threw in some chocolate chips. It is good with chocolate chips, but the bananas make it sweet enough that it would be great with out the chocolate, too. I just gave my husband one and he LOVED it. Cutting back our sugar intake isn't going be so bad after all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
These were really good! I added a couple packets of Splenda. They don't look so good after a couple of days, though. The banana turns the cookies kinda brown. Luckily they usually don't last more than a day or two at my house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binkyj826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States