No-Sugar-Added Blueberry and Banana Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I'll admit, I was a bit wary of making these because of all the reviews saying that their was no flavor. Based on my (small) changes, I rate it five stars. I think the flavor is great, I really don't miss the sugar at all, and the texture is really good too. I used apple sauce instead of the oil, subbed 1/4 cup of the flour for flaxseed meal, and added half a teaspoon of vanilla. I also halfed the recipe, so the measurements are based on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaness1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I made two slight changes but they were so miniscule that it's really not a huge deal. Instead of plain water, I soaked two Celestial Seasonings honey vanilla white tea chai bags in the half cup of water I heated for about five minutes and used that to add a little oomph. I also added two tbsp. of honey. Those were the two things I noticed that people said that these muffins needed, a little spice and perhaps a little honey. The smell of these while baking was amazing and they look super fluffy and just beautiful. Mine did need just a few more minutes to bake. Half of this recipe will be for my two kids and husband and the other half will be gifted to a friend tonight. I'll update my review once I found out how everyone liked them. EDITED: They were a hit. The kids inhaled them and couldn't really tell they were sans sugar. This will be my new blueberry muffin recipe. Thank you SO much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Initial shock over the lack of sweetness didn't last long. I really appreciate the actual flavour of the muffin. I did add 2 tbsp honey as per other reviewers but am not really sure if it makes that much of a difference. An excellent healthy muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I was expecting no taste and was pleasantly surprised. For a no-sugar recipe, I think these came out amazing. The key to the flavor is ripe bananas and delicious fresh blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great recipe! Since there is no added sugar, you would think that the muffins wouldn't be very sweet. But, they are very tasty and healthy! My children wanted to eat 3 of them for breakfast! I frequently make banana bread and muffins...this recipe is much healthier and you don't miss the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
i just made this recipe without the egg.. i forgot haha, and i added some fiber shake powder. they still turned out great! this is a good recipe, its hard to skrew it up and give all us health nuts a nice breakfast muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made these for a diabetic coworker and they were great. I followed someone suggestion and added nutmeg, cinnamon, and a half cup of Splenda. I also felt there were not enough blueberry's so I added some more. I've never cooked with wheat flour before and no sugar, but I will make this a lot since there is less guilt. My husband even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Great recipe for the sugar conscious. I added vanilla and sprinkled the top with a little sugar and cinnamon because I was afraid I'd miss the sugar too much - I didn't. My husband loved them too. A great breakfast treat for those on the go and kids who don't need the sugar. Very moist and a great treat for lunch boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I followed this exactly except for adding just a bit more blueberries. These were wonderful! Since I don't like sweet muffins these were perfect. They taste very healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Great recipe I made a couple of changes. Instead of blueberries I added one cup of mixed berries. Blackberry, blueberry and raspberry. Gave a sweeter muffine. I also replaced 1/2 flax seed meal. Turned our great have made this over and over. They don't last long with my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States