No-Sugar-Added Blueberry and Banana Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Great recipe for the sugar conscious. I added vanilla and sprinkled the top with a little sugar and cinnamon because I was afraid I'd miss the sugar too much - I didn't. My husband loved them too. A great breakfast treat for those on the go and kids who don't need the sugar. Very moist and a great treat for lunch boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made these for a diabetic coworker and they were great. I followed someone suggestion and added nutmeg, cinnamon, and a half cup of Splenda. I also felt there were not enough blueberry's so I added some more. I've never cooked with wheat flour before and no sugar, but I will make this a lot since there is less guilt. My husband even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I made this for a diabetic person and unfortunately, it didn't come out well. I've made other fruit/no sugar breads, but this came out rather bland, unless you spread butter or jam on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I made two slight changes but they were so miniscule that it's really not a huge deal. Instead of plain water, I soaked two Celestial Seasonings honey vanilla white tea chai bags in the half cup of water I heated for about five minutes and used that to add a little oomph. I also added two tbsp. of honey. Those were the two things I noticed that people said that these muffins needed, a little spice and perhaps a little honey. The smell of these while baking was amazing and they look super fluffy and just beautiful. Mine did need just a few more minutes to bake. Half of this recipe will be for my two kids and husband and the other half will be gifted to a friend tonight. I'll update my review once I found out how everyone liked them. EDITED: They were a hit. The kids inhaled them and couldn't really tell they were sans sugar. This will be my new blueberry muffin recipe. Thank you SO much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Curiosity! I just had to try this one out for curiosity’s sake and let me tell you, whole wheat and no sugar was a bit of a culture shock for me. I made sure to use overripe bananas and ripe blueberries to give it some sweetness. They were really moist and better on the second day. However, I just couldn't overcome the blandness. I even added extra blueberries, cinnamon, and nutmeg and still nothing. Next time I will try with a little honey. This recipe will really make you stop and think about how dependent we are on sweeteners in one form or another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
My husband is a diabetic so I'm always looking for no sugar muffins. These are pretty darn good. I had some really juicy, sweet blueberries which I think really help. I did use a bit less soda, and baking powder. I also added about a teaspoon of my homemade pumpkin pie spice. Without this added spice it's probably boring. The batter was really thick so next time I think I'll give it just a small amount of liquid sweetener. I only got 12 regular size muffins & needed 2 more minutes in the oven. Next time I'll add some walnuts for even more nutrition. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Wow, Speck, these are awesome. You can sort of notice there's no sugar but it doesn't pose a problem at all. To be honest, I think they are much better than some of the sugary muffins we're used to baking. The baking time was right on the mark and the final product was oh so fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
These were great! I added a little vanilla extract, and used fresh strawberries instead of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
i just made this recipe without the egg.. i forgot haha, and i added some fiber shake powder. they still turned out great! this is a good recipe, its hard to skrew it up and give all us health nuts a nice breakfast muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great recipe! Since there is no added sugar, you would think that the muffins wouldn't be very sweet. But, they are very tasty and healthy! My children wanted to eat 3 of them for breakfast! I frequently make banana bread and muffins...this recipe is much healthier and you don't miss the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States