No-Sugar-Added Blueberry and Banana Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
My husband is a diabetic so I'm always looking for no sugar muffins. These are pretty darn good. I had some really juicy, sweet blueberries which I think really help. I did use a bit less soda, and baking powder. I also added about a teaspoon of my homemade pumpkin pie spice. Without this added spice it's probably boring. The batter was really thick so next time I think I'll give it just a small amount of liquid sweetener. I only got 12 regular size muffins & needed 2 more minutes in the oven. Next time I'll add some walnuts for even more nutrition. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Wow, Speck, these are awesome. You can sort of notice there's no sugar but it doesn't pose a problem at all. To be honest, I think they are much better than some of the sugary muffins we're used to baking. The baking time was right on the mark and the final product was oh so fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
These were great! I added a little vanilla extract, and used fresh strawberries instead of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
i just made this recipe without the egg.. i forgot haha, and i added some fiber shake powder. they still turned out great! this is a good recipe, its hard to skrew it up and give all us health nuts a nice breakfast muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great recipe! Since there is no added sugar, you would think that the muffins wouldn't be very sweet. But, they are very tasty and healthy! My children wanted to eat 3 of them for breakfast! I frequently make banana bread and muffins...this recipe is much healthier and you don't miss the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
These were pretty good; i added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice to give a little more flavor. i made them into mini muffins and baked at 350 for 14 minutes. i also only added 2 tsp baking powder and it was plenty. next time i will add a little sugar though, i do need a little sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefanie
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Great standard no sugar added recipe. though I did follow one reviewer's idea and added 2 scoops of a vanilla protein powder which had a little fructose in it. I used very ripe bananas and frozen blueberries but came out great for a healthy/satisfying breakfast. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I made these for my daughter & myself since we're on the 'elimination allergy diet'. I subsituted the wheat flour w/gluten free flour. They turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I substituted apple sauce for the vegetable oil. They came out really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Great appearance and consistency. Taste was decent (not bland), but I found the taste way too heavy of baking powder. Also, not sure why, but my batter was so think before adding the blueberries, that I had to add at least an additional half cup of water to even be able to fold in the blueberries. Next time I would like to try it with a little cinnamon & nutmeg. Made 24 mini muffins and 8 regular sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States