No Sour Cream Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I did not add additional salt when I sauteed the meat because canned soups tend to be a bit salty on their own. I used 8 oz. fresh chopped baby bella mushrooms instead of canned, the full can of beef broth (just to make more "gravy") and fresh ground pepper to taste. I served this over buttered egg noodles. I did not try this myself but my family thought it was great. NO leftovers. This was very simple and came together in 20 minutes, from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Very simple yet very tasty! My family raved. We didn't have wine so I used water. Next time I'd cut back some on the onions and I LOVE onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Lovely recipe - the white wine addition really makes this dish. Even though ground beef is used it really tastes much more elegant. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned just because I had them. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Everyone enjoyed this. I did change things a little...I sauted the onion in a little butter and olive oil until tender, and then added the mushrooms (I used fresh - 1/2 sliced white button and 1/2 sliced baby bellas) and sauted those until all moisture was gone and then added the minced garlic and sauted for 2 minutes. I then deglazed with the white wine and allowed to simmer until the pan was almost dry. This mixture was removed from the pan and set aside and the ground beef was added to the pan and browned. Then the mushroom mixture added back in. I mixed the flour with 1/2 cup of beef stock and added that to the skillet and then 2 cans of mushroom soup and 1.5 the amount of beef broth (I used stock) called for in the recipe and a splash of Worcestershire. (Also seasoned with Salt and Pepper along the way). Allowed this to simmer for approx. 10 - 15 min and served over wide egg noddles. Very tasty weenight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Really good! Increased the broth to a full can & increased the worchestershire sauce to 2 tbsps for a richer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I was just looking for something quick and easy to do with ground beef, and instead I've found my husband's new favorite meal. The only thing I changed was instead of white wine I used Marsala cooking wine. I didn't have any onions, so I used dried minced onions. I served it over fettucini noodles, but I think it would be better with egg noodles, or even macaroni. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I used 1lb ground turkey (that's what I had). I used fat free cream of mushroom soup and corn starch (what I had) and an entire can of beef broth. I didn't have worchestershire, so I used soy sauce. I still felt that it was bland, so I added some garlic powder, more black pepper and a small splash of mustard. All in all it was very good. The most picky eater (my husband) had two bowls and said he would eat it 'occasionally'. The college student, kindergartner, toddler, and I all enjoyed it. I will keep it and make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This was a very good tasty way to utilize ground beef and ingredients that usually are available in the cupboard. Instead of using canned mushrooms, I used fresh mushrooms that I sauteed prior to adding them to the browned meat mixture. To reduce the fat content, I drained the browned meat mixture, used reduced fat soup and substituted the butter for olive oil. I would recommend this recipe for anyone who is looking to make a quick meal with ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This recipe was very good. It is great for a quick week night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This recipe is definitely a "do-over," although I found we needed to add extra salt at the table. You might want to increase salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Also, I drained the fat off of the meat even though the recipe didn't indicate to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calamity Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olyphant, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States