No Sour Cream Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This was a very good tasty way to utilize ground beef and ingredients that usually are available in the cupboard. Instead of using canned mushrooms, I used fresh mushrooms that I sauteed prior to adding them to the browned meat mixture. To reduce the fat content, I drained the browned meat mixture, used reduced fat soup and substituted the butter for olive oil. I would recommend this recipe for anyone who is looking to make a quick meal with ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This recipe is definitely a "do-over," although I found we needed to add extra salt at the table. You might want to increase salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Also, I drained the fat off of the meat even though the recipe didn't indicate to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calamity Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olyphant, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Very good...I just added some parmesean cheese right before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Really good and easy. But I did add sour cream. Had some in the fridge and needed to use it soon. But all in all I loved the outcome and will use it again. Over noodles of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkj228

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Transfer, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I thought this was good, not great. I did use low-fat, lower salt cream of mushroom soup. I used 2 lbs. of ground beef, two cans of the soup, a whole 10 oz can of beef broth and 3/4 cup of white wine. I thought it needed some more spice, so I put about a 1 teas of dried thyme in it. However, my husband loved it, so I will make it again. I think I will try red wine next time, perhaps that will go even better with the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
We loved this so much we ate it for four consecutive dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I love beef stroganoff but my husband can't have dairy so this was a great recipe for us! I didn't think it was possible to make beef stroganoff without sour cream but this was great. I have made it several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Really good! Increased the broth to a full can & increased the worchestershire sauce to 2 tbsps for a richer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Made according to directions, and was truly impressed. I had reservations about the wine, but used it anyway, and I'm glad I did. Even my 4 year old liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Sorry, this just wasn't very good. It was too thick, too salty, and we didn't like the flavor of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States