No Sour Cream Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rashi
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Followed recipe exactly..and it was great. Just added cilantro for a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This was great! I made some changes- I used thinly sliced steak instead of beef, only added 8oz beef stock and no cream of mushroom. I put it over zucchini noodles. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dolci C.
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
The only I changed was using red wine instead of white!! SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Used this recipe because I didn't have sour cream on hand. I skipped the salt and used 10.5oz of beef broth. I also was a little liberal with the Worcester sauce. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Very good sauce and quite tasty. I had some pork cutlets that I cubed in lieu of ground beef. I also added 1/2 t. of Tarragon to enhance the sauce. We both thought is delicious and are looking forward to eating the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I wanted to try this because I can't have sour cream but love beef stroganoff. I don't keep white wine on hand so I used half a cup of beef broth instead. I also used a whole can of beef broth to add in instead of the half can called for, and garlic salt rather than garlic cloves. Once everything was cooked and mixed together I wasn't so sure about it. It looked too much like hamburger helper, and while I have nothing against HH, if I'm cooking it's because I want something other than HH for once :P It also lacked in colour so I added a big handful of dried parsley flakes. However, it did taste better than expected, mostly due to the Worcestershire sauce. I added in a very liberal "dash", stirred it in and let it cook for a few minutes, then added in an equally liberal second dash. It was decent, I will at least eat the leftovers. However, if I make it again I'll probably use beef strips and fresh mushrooms, and maybe experiment with a few additional seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very easy!!! Used ground sausage instead (didn't have beef). Turned out FAB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
The flavor was ok but way too much flour that made it gooey and the meat was too tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
It turned out great!! I was looking for a quick recipe to whip up before I head to work and this was perfect. Its quick, easy and tastes great. In lieu of chopped mushrooms, I used chopped eggplant and in lieu of worcestershire sauce, I just seasoned the meat while frying it with all purpose seasonings. It provided enough flavor and paired well with the cream of mushroom and wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I used fresh mushrooms (they're always better) and chicken broth (because that's what I had). Came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States