No Roll Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I was looking for a recipe to mess with to make a peppermint cookie, and this was a winner. I omitted the vanilla and cream of tartar and added 1/4 c. finely crushed candy canes (down to pretty much a powder) and 2 1/2 t. peppermint extract. Then I rolled them in more crushed candy canes and sugar (probably about 1/3 c. and 1/8 c., respectively), and did not flatten them. They turned out extremely well and have become my favorite Christmas cookie this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
Quick and easy, tasts great, and doesnt take that much stuff to make. and i always have everything that it needs on hand. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Good shortbread tasting cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ST.JON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
Super easy and fast. I do not cook often and these cookies turned out very nicely in under a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Excellent recipe!!! Everyone loves these cookies. I did omit the cream of tatar, simply because I didn't have any. I have tried this recipe with both butter and margarine, and butter makes a much tastier cookie. :-) Thanks, Jan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
My husband loves this recipe. He's made is several times. It's so easy to make my young daughter often helps. Very tasty, similar to shortbread. I look forward to experiementing with flavorings like orange and almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
When they first came out of the oven the were wonderful. After they cooled they still tasted good but were a bit crumbly. Overall I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This is just the recipe I was looking for! I love the flavor & texture of these cookies, not to mention how easy they are to make! I like to bake them a tiny bit longer so they come out nice & crisp! I also sprinkle some superfine sugar on them just as they come out of the oven for extra sparkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Excellent cookies! Very light, very crisp with a delicate flavor. I used Crisco for the 1/2 c shortening and it worked very well. One big plus to this recipe was that it doesn't require any refrigeration - my 3 year old helper doesn't have the patience for cookie recipes that require refigeration! We'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
These cookies were ok, but I have tasted far better sugar cookies. The vanilla flavoring was bland, so I added almond extract which did make them taste much better...I would definitely recommend doing this. However, I am still not overly impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States