No Roll Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Hooray! I finally found THE recipe I needed. My husband was obsessed with a cookie that was discontinued, so I decided to try to recreate the recipe. I have no baking experience, but after trying a new batch every day for a week and with the help of this recipe, I finally got the right flavor and, most importantly, texture. These cookies really do melt in your mouth. They have a fine, soft crumb and are not chewy, crispy, crumbly, or heavy. They are also great after spending the night in the fridge. I changed the recipe just a tiny bit: I used butter only (no shortening), doubled the confectioners' sugar, and used baking powder instead of baking soda and cream of tartar. I found that keeping the butter and egg at room temperature made a big difference in the cookie's texture (it made it lighter). Apparently it's also important not to over-mix the flour, so as soon as I got the batter to the right consistency (soft but not sticking to my fingers), I formed the cookies using sugar on my work surface - not flour. I did not refrigerate the batter. I took the cookies out of the oven after 8 minutes - BEFORE they started to brown at the edges. Hubby is very happy, and I am feeling very empowered. Thank you for the wonderful recipe! I can't believe what a huge difference a few small ingredient changes can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Very good, easy recipe. I didn't have Cream of Tater so I used 1/2 tsp. vinegar instead of Cream of Tater which worked fine. I put the balls of dough into cupcake liners and pressed them down in the liners. Made clean up easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Made recipe exactly except for adding an extra 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. Make sure you smash the cookie with a glass before baking as the cookie doesn't expand much. I rolled the top of the dough ball in colored sugar the smashed it with a glass on the cookie sheet.Used a 1 1/2 inch cookie dough scooper and it make 24 three inch cookies. Quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Its Brilliant. works perfectly... had to make two batches.. one is not going to last in the house..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Waltrip
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
These are easy and fun to make!! Oh and buttery and delicious with a crisp edge and soft center. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding 1/4 t. of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These cookies were good but came very salty. would suggest cutting the salt in half or using unsalted butter, other than that, great recipe! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Followed directions exactly...these remind me of the cookies my grandma used to make. My kids love them. Did not ice them, just rolled them in decorator sugar so they look pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I dipped a glass bottom in cinnamon and sugar and pushed into top of cookies. Didn't flatten cookies -] they were delicious. Didn't have cream of tartar either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pitcairn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, and they turned out pretty good. They weren't very flavorful. I had to add a bit more flour, and the dough was still very soft. I would think you could never use thus recipe for rolled cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
easy to make... so soft and yummy!!!! make a lot, they wont last long!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States