No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This is just like my mom used to make and I remember pressing it in the pie plates as a child. Now my own children do and they love it! Sooo easy! This is best with Pumpkin Pie. My kids only look foward to Pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I use this recipe all the time to make crusts because they don't sell pre-made pie crusts in the Czech Republic. This always turns out great, but I make minor changes. I found that there is too much liquid in this so I just decrease the amount of oil and pour in milk till it seems done. I have used this for quiche, chicken pot pie, and even real pies (i just put some sugar in it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalexandropoulos
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I have made this crust several times now, and I have recieved compliments EVERY time. People cannot believe it is a no roll recipe. It is very crispy/flaky and flavorful. It doesn't taste like that horrible shortening used in other no roll recipes. This is very flavorful and SO simple to make. Wonderful texture. UPDATE: I am changing my rating to a 5 star - which I do not give out very often. I have made this crust MANY times now and I get raves EVERY SINGLE TIME. So, this pie crust deserves 5 stars based on taste and texture alone - not to mention simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalexandropoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This a simple yet very effective pie crust that can be used with any type of filling. I use this recipe every week for my breakfast casserole, which I sell in our church's coffee cafe. The crust is simple to assemble and I prefer unbleached flour. I also use a recipe and a half in order to fill my large commercial baking pan. I do bake it for 8 minutes in a 350 degree oven and then add my egg mixture and rebake. The crust always comes out tender and flaky. I heard this is a great crust for fruit fillings, as well. Just follow the recipe as is and it will work out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Cowan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I don't understand why everyone thinks this pie crust was "flaky." Personally, mine was a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I must admit I was skeptical at first, but this crust is wonderful! I'm from the old school of rolling/cold shortening cut into chunks/ice-water/small peas & cornmeal...(you know the drill)...and I just didn't think that OIL (of all things!)could produce such a flaky/tender/light/TASTY crust that's made right in the pie plate!! I thought it was not possible...but I'm a believer now and will probably never roll out a crust again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I just made this w/lemon meringue pie and the sweetness perfectly off sets the tartness of the pie. This crust has almost the same taste as a sweet crumb topping. I did not have any canola oil so used olive oil instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
i appreciate the fact that this is an easy, quick, no-roll crust. unfortunately, i was unhappy with the taste. i find no fault with the recipe, though; it's simply a matter of taste, i guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I used to HATE making pies, now I make them all of the time. This recipe is super easy and comes out flaky enough for me and my critics! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairo Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The only pie crust I ever made that was easy and edible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States