No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Yuck! this was a tasteless mess. found it much more difficult to work with than a regular pastry recipe. will stick with the tried and true next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadgrinch8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I chose this recipe because I was looking for a thicker crust than my ready-made crusts would provide. The flavor was fine, and ease of making was great. However, it lost two stars because the edge of the crust was crumbly, and even though the bottom of the crust held, my husband said it felt like it "disintegrated" in his mouth. I'll keep this recipe around, but am unsure if I'll ever use it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Oh-My-Gosh!! This is, without a doubt, the best pie crust!! I couldn't make a pie crust to save my life, until now. It is so flaky and tender. This will be the only pie crust recipe I will ever turn to. If I could give it 10 stars, I would. Update: I use this recipe all the time for pies and quiche, and even some cream soups. It is great with Cream of Carrot soup, Chicken Pot Pie soup or any type of tomato soup. Each time I serve it to guests, they want the recipe. Even my mother wanted it. This is the best for people that avoid butter, margarine and shortening. If you use canola oil, that is much healthier for you. I always make this for a serving of 10, it gives a nice thick crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This pie crust would be great with a little added molasses, and FULLY melted butter instead of oil. Makes it less savory and great for pumpkin pies [which, mine at least, already include molasses]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is a 5 star recipe if I ever tasted one, and it has nothing to do with how easy it is to make (and it is incredibly easy)! It was an absolutely perfect crust - rich, moist, flaky, and flavorful. My mom ate a piece of my apple pie and told me I should make the crust that way from now on. Yum! (PS: I added 3 tablespoons of sugar as some reviewers suggested since I was making sweet pie).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tapring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Wasn't really what I was hoping for. The first few bites weren't too bad but after eating a little bit, it just didn't taste good. The taste and texture just seemed "off" to me. I'll keep looking. I give it a 3 because it was extremely simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This is just like my mom used to make and I remember pressing it in the pie plates as a child. Now my own children do and they love it! Sooo easy! This is best with Pumpkin Pie. My kids only look foward to Pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I use this recipe all the time to make crusts because they don't sell pre-made pie crusts in the Czech Republic. This always turns out great, but I make minor changes. I found that there is too much liquid in this so I just decrease the amount of oil and pour in milk till it seems done. I have used this for quiche, chicken pot pie, and even real pies (i just put some sugar in it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalexandropoulos
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I have made this crust several times now, and I have recieved compliments EVERY time. People cannot believe it is a no roll recipe. It is very crispy/flaky and flavorful. It doesn't taste like that horrible shortening used in other no roll recipes. This is very flavorful and SO simple to make. Wonderful texture. UPDATE: I am changing my rating to a 5 star - which I do not give out very often. I have made this crust MANY times now and I get raves EVERY SINGLE TIME. So, this pie crust deserves 5 stars based on taste and texture alone - not to mention simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalexandropoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This a simple yet very effective pie crust that can be used with any type of filling. I use this recipe every week for my breakfast casserole, which I sell in our church's coffee cafe. The crust is simple to assemble and I prefer unbleached flour. I also use a recipe and a half in order to fill my large commercial baking pan. I do bake it for 8 minutes in a 350 degree oven and then add my egg mixture and rebake. The crust always comes out tender and flaky. I heard this is a great crust for fruit fillings, as well. Just follow the recipe as is and it will work out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYINABASKET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States