No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I liked this crust very much: easy to do, no need to roll and no shortening in it (which I don't like and I can't get easily here in Spain, anyway). I used it for a quiche and I'm very happy with the results. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Excellent. I left out the sugar, because I was using the crust for a pot pie. At the same time, I also made the other No Roll Pie Crust recipe on this site...this one is definitely superior to that one. I have even made this substituting olive oil for half the oil (again for a savory dish, not a dessert pie) and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I give it 5 stars because I don't have the patience or skills to roll crust so with this recipe I finally can make quiche and pies, plus it tastes good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
My mother always had trouble with pie crust so I waited a long time before wanting to try it myself. This recipe was very easy and turned out flaky with a great texture. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I used it with a custard pie and ended up tasting the oil more than the pie. I will definitely keep this recipe and take the advice of other reviewers and try melted butter instead of oil next time. I do agree, however, that it would be an excellent crust for quiche! Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I'm a big fan of this crust. The sifting makes a difference. It works great for the quiches I make about once a week. I think it tastes just as good as crust made from shortening, with half the work. I wouldn't use this recipe if I were making a pie because I like a thick flaky crust for sweet pies, but for a quiche this works great. This is the best oil crust recipe I have come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
With temps in AZ, I'd chill this for awhile in the fridge after mixing. (Done 5/12/08). Takes some pressing, but it filled a 9" pie pan with this "dough." BOTTOM LINE: Made a mix of classical Quiche Lorraine filling consisting of 3 eggs, onions, herbs, plus some good Black Forest ham, diced. Unfortunately this ain't no Paté Brisée!!! Nevertheless, in a crashing hurry, it works, and it tastes pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennsy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oracle, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was not what I was looking for. I used this recipe as recommended by a quiche recipe and I did not like the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mathews, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Yuck! this was a tasteless mess. found it much more difficult to work with than a regular pastry recipe. will stick with the tried and true next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadgrinch8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I chose this recipe because I was looking for a thicker crust than my ready-made crusts would provide. The flavor was fine, and ease of making was great. However, it lost two stars because the edge of the crust was crumbly, and even though the bottom of the crust held, my husband said it felt like it "disintegrated" in his mouth. I'll keep this recipe around, but am unsure if I'll ever use it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Oh-My-Gosh!! This is, without a doubt, the best pie crust!! I couldn't make a pie crust to save my life, until now. It is so flaky and tender. This will be the only pie crust recipe I will ever turn to. If I could give it 10 stars, I would. Update: I use this recipe all the time for pies and quiche, and even some cream soups. It is great with Cream of Carrot soup, Chicken Pot Pie soup or any type of tomato soup. Each time I serve it to guests, they want the recipe. Even my mother wanted it. This is the best for people that avoid butter, margarine and shortening. If you use canola oil, that is much healthier for you. I always make this for a serving of 10, it gives a nice thick crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States