No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I HATE making pie crust (and a complete failure when I try) and I truly thought I was doomed to never EVER be able to make a home-made crust. I am now a real pie baker, thanks to this recipe. I completly stumbled upon it as I was browsing pie recipes and because of that happy accident my life is now complete. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for an easy, delicious, flaky, no fail pie crust! I will never buy another pre-made, or cry and curse over roll-out pie crust again. One tiny change I make is to put 1T. of sugar instead of 1t. sugar in when I make sweet pies, I leave out the sugar altogether for savory pies. This recipe has changed my life (a little dramatic I know but it's true)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIFAERIE79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I think for a fast pie crust w/o the worry of rolling, it's really good. I was concerned it would be too oily, but it turned out quite nice. Had a nice flavor and was flaky. I did add 1/2 tsp of butter flavor to it, but otherwise followed it exactly. I used this for apple pie since I failed miserably rolling out a traditional crust! I'll use this one again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This crust is more like a shortbread crust than a flaky crust. It was very good with a Hillbilly Pie filling from this site. The filling was very sweet so I didn't need a super sweet crust. Good. I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
this is by far the easiest pie recipe and quick! light and flaky i added a tad less salt but it was great used it with a old recipe my dad used to make we called it milk pie it was out of this world, i gave it to my sister to make cuz she no pie maker and told her she can di it its sooooooooo easy!! thanks for the recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I used coconut oil and 1/2 whole wheat flour, and added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of sugar, since I was making a sweet pie. The crust is a bit dense, it would be perfect for something heavy like chicken pot pie, but it isn't really quite right for a sweet pie. The taste was good, but I think I was mainly enjoying the coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Wonderful recipe!!!!! I don't like to cook with butter because it's so bad for your health, so this is quite a descovery. I made a quiche and I did bake the crust for about 8-10 min before filling it. Thanks for sharing...you have earned the 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALU911
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Quick and easy! This is a handy little recipe. I did increase the sugar a little, but other than that I followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is a really great and simple recipe. I added some cinnamon to give it some flavor, and the texture is great and flaky! However, the flavor was lacking, and definitely needs more sugar. I didn't prebake it either, and my pear pie came out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is such an easy and delicious recipe. I found it for my 10 year old daughter who wanted to make a pie one night and we were all out of store bought pie crusts. She is now the "Pie Maker" in our house. Everyone who's tried this loves it. It isn't a sweet crust, so would be good for chicken pot pie as well as chocolate pie, which is what we usually make, specifically Bev's Chocolate Pie from this site. Thanks so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is by far the easiest pie crust I've made - and it tastes great! I did change the recipe to better suit my preference, though. The recipe, as is, is a good one - if you like a REALLY flaky crust. I, however, like my crust a little less flaky. Flaky enough to crumb a little when you cut it, but not so flaky it leaves so many crumbs behind. The two things I changed were the oil & milk. I used 1/3 C oil and 3 Tbsp milk. This gives it a more dense, yet still flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States