No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very good. After reading the reviews I added extra sugar to the mix and I also substituted coconut oil for canola. Gave it a real nutty kind of flavor. The crust turned out beautifully with a flaky texture and rich flavor...a great compliment to go with the pumpkin I poured into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamidelCaribe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
never made a pie crust before. the texture was good...flaky and didn't burn. i thought the flavor lacked something...was a little dull. needed more sugar or buttery, spicy something. easy to make though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ramos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I HATE making pie crust (and a complete failure when I try) and I truly thought I was doomed to never EVER be able to make a home-made crust. I am now a real pie baker, thanks to this recipe. I completly stumbled upon it as I was browsing pie recipes and because of that happy accident my life is now complete. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for an easy, delicious, flaky, no fail pie crust! I will never buy another pre-made, or cry and curse over roll-out pie crust again. One tiny change I make is to put 1T. of sugar instead of 1t. sugar in when I make sweet pies, I leave out the sugar altogether for savory pies. This recipe has changed my life (a little dramatic I know but it's true)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIFAERIE79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I think for a fast pie crust w/o the worry of rolling, it's really good. I was concerned it would be too oily, but it turned out quite nice. Had a nice flavor and was flaky. I did add 1/2 tsp of butter flavor to it, but otherwise followed it exactly. I used this for apple pie since I failed miserably rolling out a traditional crust! I'll use this one again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This crust is more like a shortbread crust than a flaky crust. It was very good with a Hillbilly Pie filling from this site. The filling was very sweet so I didn't need a super sweet crust. Good. I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
this is by far the easiest pie recipe and quick! light and flaky i added a tad less salt but it was great used it with a old recipe my dad used to make we called it milk pie it was out of this world, i gave it to my sister to make cuz she no pie maker and told her she can di it its sooooooooo easy!! thanks for the recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I used coconut oil and 1/2 whole wheat flour, and added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of sugar, since I was making a sweet pie. The crust is a bit dense, it would be perfect for something heavy like chicken pot pie, but it isn't really quite right for a sweet pie. The taste was good, but I think I was mainly enjoying the coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Wonderful recipe!!!!! I don't like to cook with butter because it's so bad for your health, so this is quite a descovery. I made a quiche and I did bake the crust for about 8-10 min before filling it. Thanks for sharing...you have earned the 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALU911
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Quick and easy! This is a handy little recipe. I did increase the sugar a little, but other than that I followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is a really great and simple recipe. I added some cinnamon to give it some flavor, and the texture is great and flaky! However, the flavor was lacking, and definitely needs more sugar. I didn't prebake it either, and my pear pie came out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States