No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very tender & flaky!! I am a terrible cook who usually uses a refrigerated pie crust that you just unroll into the pan. Unfortunately, I forgot to buy one, and the supermarket is a half hour away. I had no solid shortening and no rolling pin, so I decided to try this recipe. It is super easy and delicious. No more refrigerated crusts for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
What a wonderfully easy crust! Delicate, flavorful... tastes like it took much more time and effort than it did. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I also made my own crust. I altered the recipe and I used 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour, 1 cup of grated unsweetened coconut, 1 cup of ground quinoa seeds grond into a flour , 1/2 of whole flaxseeds. Do not grind them for this recipe it will not work well. 1 tablespoon of agave nectar, 1tbs of cinnamon powder, 1/2 tsp. sea salt, and 1tbs of vanilla essence, and 1/2 cup of extra virgin coconut oil. I got two (2) pie shells from that recipe and I pressed them down into the 9in pie dishes. I took a fork, and punched holes through the pie shells, and I baked them for 45mins. at 250 degrees because coconut oil burns at high temperature, and also to preserve the nutrients in the pie crusts. It was delicious!!! You can still enjoy desserts, just make them a little healthier!!!! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
i loved it now i dont even want regular pie crust because this one turns out and stays crispy and has a nice taste for pudding pies, etc. i have no tried it with a pie that needs baking with the ingredients in it ex: like a cherry pie, etc very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Was just ok for me. I did like it because it was a non crisco recipe. These are hard to find. I will play with the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISSA22701

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This crust has to be the easiest homemade crust I have ever made. I didn't mix it in the pan I mixed it in a bowl then just dumped it over in the pan and it worked great. I made an apple pie so I didn't prebake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southerncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I was very pleased with this pie crust. I made it exactly as written, but pre-baked it for five minutes before adding the filings. I made the Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel recipe and Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie. Both turned out wonderfully. The pie crust was very tender and flakey. This will be my go-to recipe for single crust pies. It works for both sweet and savory fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very good. After reading the reviews I added extra sugar to the mix and I also substituted coconut oil for canola. Gave it a real nutty kind of flavor. The crust turned out beautifully with a flaky texture and rich flavor...a great compliment to go with the pumpkin I poured into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamidelCaribe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
never made a pie crust before. the texture was good...flaky and didn't burn. i thought the flavor lacked something...was a little dull. needed more sugar or buttery, spicy something. easy to make though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I HATE making pie crust (and a complete failure when I try) and I truly thought I was doomed to never EVER be able to make a home-made crust. I am now a real pie baker, thanks to this recipe. I completly stumbled upon it as I was browsing pie recipes and because of that happy accident my life is now complete. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for an easy, delicious, flaky, no fail pie crust! I will never buy another pre-made, or cry and curse over roll-out pie crust again. One tiny change I make is to put 1T. of sugar instead of 1t. sugar in when I make sweet pies, I leave out the sugar altogether for savory pies. This recipe has changed my life (a little dramatic I know but it's true)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIFAERIE79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States