No Roll Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Easy and not messy at all! Made a great crust for the turkey pot pie I made! I did use a little less oil as others suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
My grandma has been using this for years and our whole family loves it! One other thing that she will do is instead of patting it out for a top crust she will just use the crumbled dough on top and make a crumb top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I used this recipe for my pumkin pies this year b/c I was cruched for time and forgot to buy shortening. I loved the result! This is not as good as traditional pie crust but there is so much to appreciate about it. It has a good flavor, saves soooo much time, no fussing with cutting shortening, running/cleaning equipment, chilling utensils, etc and not near as much guilt about eating it as the ingredients are healthier--I'm going to try using whole wheat flour next. I didn't have peanut oil so used a canola oil blend instead. Wonderful recipe on so many levels that I may never go back to traditional crust. Many thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
A great basic no roll pie crust. I used this for a banana cream pie and just sprinkled some sugar on the pie before baking. The result was a good flaky pie crust which only took minutes to make. The pie itself was wonderful and the crust was not soggy. I think this deserves a 5 star because it did exactly what the recipe intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I was really, really hoping this would turn out to be a 5 star easy crust recipe. But, it is not. The taste is definitely in my opinion, just 1 star if even that. For quickness, it would get a 5, as it is super easy. My family however, goes for flavor. This one did not work well. I used this recipe for Quiche. We ALL ended up peeling the crust off the Quiche, and just eating the egg mixture. We tossed the crust. If you can imagine what a mess of flour mixed with oil would taste like, then you have a feel for what this recipe tastes like. I am really disappointed, b/c it would have been great to find wonderful tasting, quick crust. I'll keep trying. :0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I had been dreading learning to make my own pie crust because it seemed so messy and labor-intensive, but today I tried it with this recipe and it turned out fantastic! It took me 5 minutes to throw the ingredients together, then I blind baked it before using it for my quiche, and it was perfect. Instead of having to remember to pick up pie crusts at the store, I can just throw this together; it really is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msimps14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Soooo easy! I made this for pumpkin pies, they turned out great:-)I used Olive Oil. My Dad, who is quite the food critic, said it was the best pie (and crust;-) he's had! I'm supposed to make them for Thanksgiving this year and I'm using this crust again:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
A good, quick substitute for a regular butter/shortening crust. When baked and filled, it's still a pretty light pastry crust. I'll definitely use this again when I'm crunched for time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Only thing I changed was I used less salt. Crust tasted delicious with my apple pie. Will never buy another crust or make one any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I read some of the reviews a made a couple minor changes. I did use just a little less oil (I used olive oil), added 1 tablespoon sugar, and just added enough ice water to make it the consistency I needed. This is a very easy pie crust and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States