No Roll Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I made this with vegetable oil. So easy, and perfectly good with a good pie recipe—I'll be baking with my daughter more often, thanks to this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Easy and super yummy!! don't forget to add at least 1 teaspoon of sugar. i used this for apple pie and quiche and both came out good and my kids even liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kansasprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This makes an excellent and really east crust! I used it in an 11 inch tart pan with removable bottom to make the fudge pie recipe from this site. Fantastic! I make it a sweet crust with 2 tablespoons of sugar and cut the salt in half. I also didn't use as much oil as called for. Crispy, flaky and far more stable than I would have expected. Slid right out of the pan and off the bottom with no cracking or falling apart. I will never make pie crust the hard way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I used corn oil and it turned out very flaky. I used the cinnamon pie recipe and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I just made this recipe and it was ok. I love pie crust, but this crust was very bland and lacked any flavor at all. I followed the recipe exactly however next time I will be adding some sugar. I also made a lattice top for my blueberry pie with this crust and it worked fine. I will definitely continue to use this recipe with some additional tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenarowland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I saw this in the latest reviews and I was curious. So I had to make it. After reading reviews I cut the salt in half. The dough's texture when I was bringing it together in the bowl was good. It was fairly simple to shape it in my quiche dish, which was one of the things I was worried about. The other thing was taste but the general verdict was that it was very good. Whilst this won't replace my favourite all butter crust from this site, I can see me using this again if I'm in a hurry or don't have the ingredients for my usual crust. Glad my curiosity led me to this one. Thanks for the interesting recipe Karin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is a terrific pie crust. I use it all the time. All you have to do to roll it out just right is put it between 2 sheets of wax paper and use a rolling pin. Not to mention you don't actually have to use peanut oil, I've used Canola, Vegetable, and Corn oil with this recipe and it yields the same results. This saves money since everything you need is probably right there in your cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This alternative crust is a tiny sacrifice on taste for a huge return on time (and still way better than a store-bought crust). If it wasn't for this recipe I would never even bother trying to make a pie. Also great if you don't have a rolling pin handy. Be warned that it is a bit on the salty side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Excellent. Thank you for a healthfully made pie crust recipe. Only thing I did different is used unbleached flour. I always use peanut oil as it is much, much better than most oils you buy at the store. Next time I will try rolling it between 2 pieces of waxed paper so I can crimp the edges of the crust. I really could not tell any difference in taste, compared to the shortening type I used to make. Will always use this recipe from now on. Worked very well with the Chocolate Chess pie I made yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States