No Roll Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Delicious, easy crust. I do not have time to bake, but always have tons of fruits and vegetables on hand, due our orchard and generous garden. This was very simple and flaky, however, to save time I made the crust the night before, pressed it into the pan then popped it into the fridge. By the next afternoon it already had mold growing on it. So I'm guessing the crust needs to be used immediately. Luckily I had crust left over and baked a single serving size pie that night and was able to experience this great crust. Next time I will add herbs to the crust and fill it like a quiche!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Leavenworth, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This pie crust was so easy and tasted great. I used vegetable oil and 1/4 tsp of salt. I did have to add a little extra water because it was slightly dry. I made pumpkin pie which had to be baked for an hour and the crust didn't burn at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I followed the directions and came out with a crust that was very greasy and had a texture like graham cracker crust. Didn't hold together at all. I may try this again and see if I did something wrong the first time. Couldn't get it to brown either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
this was the best pie crust in the world!!!!!!!! but instead of using peanut oil i used corn oil but it was still the bomb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This is very similar to "the family recipe" my mother taught me when I was just a little boy. Its easy to work with and easy to adjust to different kinds of pies. Use sugar instead of salt for a sweeter flavor (and add a little extra sugar, just because). I still roll it out as it makes it easier to work with in my opinion. I also just used a vegetable oil instead of peanut oil for allergy reason. Comes out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I just made this pie crust for a quiche that I was making. I could not believe how easy it was to prepare and to flatten to fit the pie pan. Initially thought that it would be too greasy...but I prebaked for about 15 minutes before adding the quiche ingrediants and it came out perfect, delicious and flakey. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I've used this several times and am just getting around to rating it. I love this recipe, it's perfect and flaky for a last minute crust. The peanut oil is a must. I'm wondering how it will work with some rolled oats in the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostjujubeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made this recipe as written. The peanut flavor was so overpowering that it overshadowed the flavor of my quiche. To it's credit, it is extremely easy. I think canola oil or another lighter flavored oil would work much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Instead of the oil, use slightly less than 1/2 cup cold butter, cut in by hand using a pastry blender until it looks like damp beach sand and turn out into a pie plate. Use the back of a spoon to press the dough against the pie plate. Butter is just better. This makes a flaky crust. Double the recipe for a two-crust pie. UPDATE: 1/5/10-I used this recipe to make a savory pie over Christmas and this time used olive oil that I put in the freezer for an hour beforehand to make it good and cold. After mixing, I put the prepared dough into the freezer for another 1/2 hour then pre-baked it for 15 minutes to set in pan. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This is good for quiche, not really for a top crust, - tried it on chicken pot pie, and I really didn't like it. But it was good for quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States