No Peek Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Loved IT!!!!!Had it lastnite. We made a couple additions though. We used pork, which was so tender.. also added beef broth, minced garlic, worchestershire sauce and salt and pepper and tossed the meat in flour and browned it first. The meat was excellent...so tender.. can't til lunchtime to have it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
This was the most delicious stew I have ever eaten -- not to mention the easiest and healthiest. I did add more potatoes and a few spears of broccoli. Not as spicy as I thought it would be which was fine with me. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This was so easy and tasted great. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
This recipe is absolutely "FABULOUS". Everyone should want to add this recipe to thier recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
Delicious! A couple of suggestions...next time I will brown the meat to seal in the juices. Even after cooking for 5 1/2 hours, the meat wasn't as soft as I would have liked. Also, IMPORTANT, I will add a teaspoon of salt and a dash of pepper. The veggies needed some seasoning and were a tad bland. But overall, this is a WINNER RECIPE! Incredible stew, and so easy. Oh, and a question for the person whose veggies weren't soft after 5 hours of baking....was your oven on? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
EXCELLENT Irish stew recipe. Very easy to make. The brown sugar it calls for in the recipe does make it a bit sweeter than I like it so I omit the sugar when I make it. Kids LOVE it!!! This will become a family tradition recipe for us! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
So easy to make I am in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
So easy, and the meat & vegetables turned out very tender for me. I would definitely add salt and pepper next time, but otherwise this was great. I took leftovers for lunch at work, and many people asked for the recipe just from the smell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
This is a very easy and hearty beef stew and perfect for a warming winter meal. I used regular flour and it came out great. A great basic staple that everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I was skeptical. A stew made with only 1 cup of liquid? And that liquid is a can of V8? But this was GOOD. And SO easy! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing next time. My husband is Irish and very picky about his stew. He loved it, and it will definitely go into regular cirulation at our house. (He would like me to specify that he's from Ireland, not a "Plastic Paddy" - a term used to describe an American who claims Irish heritage. No offense to those of Irish heritage!) You know what this seemed like? Each piece was coated with a delicious thick sauce the same way a Chinese dish like orange chicken is, but the dish is not overwhelmed with sauce. This was so appetizing that I couldn’t resist it, and I don’t eat beef! Next time I'll take a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States