No Peek Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
For a basic beef stew recipe, this is very good. I did have to change it though. I tossed the beef in 3 Tbsp. regular flour with lemon pepper, chili powder, and garlic powder. I browned it with a little olive oil. I put it in the crock pot (because I needed my oven for other baking) and it turned out fine. The other change I made was using 1/2 c. V-8 and 1/2 c. bloody mary mix. I thought it would give it a little kick, and it did. In the last about 20 minutes, I added a cup of frozen peas for some color. Along with lots of salt and pepper, it turned out great. This recipe is a great base to build off of and add whatever you like for flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
EXCELLENT Irish stew recipe. Very easy to make. The brown sugar it calls for in the recipe does make it a bit sweeter than I like it so I omit the sugar when I make it. Kids LOVE it!!! This will become a family tradition recipe for us! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Have made this for years. I always used a spicy tomato cocktail drink. Hoppin Tom or spicy V-8 and never used any sugar. Always raves and NEVER any left over. Hardy and delicious and extremely simple. Never had a need to brown meat before hand.Always tender and veggies perfect. NEVER open oven door and peek as heat goes down and takes a long time to raise back up. Just throw in oven and forget it for 5 hours!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I was skeptical. A stew made with only 1 cup of liquid? And that liquid is a can of V8? But this was GOOD. And SO easy! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing next time. My husband is Irish and very picky about his stew. He loved it, and it will definitely go into regular cirulation at our house. (He would like me to specify that he's from Ireland, not a "Plastic Paddy" - a term used to describe an American who claims Irish heritage. No offense to those of Irish heritage!) You know what this seemed like? Each piece was coated with a delicious thick sauce the same way a Chinese dish like orange chicken is, but the dish is not overwhelmed with sauce. This was so appetizing that I couldn’t resist it, and I don’t eat beef! Next time I'll take a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
Delicious! A couple of suggestions...next time I will brown the meat to seal in the juices. Even after cooking for 5 1/2 hours, the meat wasn't as soft as I would have liked. Also, IMPORTANT, I will add a teaspoon of salt and a dash of pepper. The veggies needed some seasoning and were a tad bland. But overall, this is a WINNER RECIPE! Incredible stew, and so easy. Oh, and a question for the person whose veggies weren't soft after 5 hours of baking....was your oven on? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
This is a very easy and hearty beef stew and perfect for a warming winter meal. I used regular flour and it came out great. A great basic staple that everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
This turned out great considering I have never cooked before. I made this for my dorm floor, and it was gone in five minutes. Very hearty, add garlic and spices like cayenne pepper to add zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
This was the most delicious stew I have ever eaten -- not to mention the easiest and healthiest. I did add more potatoes and a few spears of broccoli. Not as spicy as I thought it would be which was fine with me. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
This recipe is absolutely "FABULOUS". Everyone should want to add this recipe to thier recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
So easy to make I am in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States