No Peek Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very bland. Ended up with meat and vegtables like a roast, no juice or sauce to really make it a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Really good, came out tasty and meat very tender. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because I would leave the sugar out. It made the dish just too sweet. It needs no sugar at all. I had to add more salt that I would have liked to combat the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Very easy and good stew.. I think it needs some spices.. I followed just as stated and it was very good... we made it for cooking club and everyone enjoyed....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is a really good base. I added a bunch more spices. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Great recipe, but I must not have been careful enough in my flour measurement; they didn't "flatten" and tended to crumble. I did add a pinch of salt and some vanilla as suggested in other comments, and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Soooo good! I didn't change a thing. This is getting put into my dinner rotation for the cold months! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~jz~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This technique earns 5 stars, but the flavor is lacking (despite using a mixture of Spicy Hot V-8 and bloody mary mix). I also added salt, pepper, cayenne, rosemary, and roast beef seasoning. I used cornstarch instead of flour, which worked fine. Next time I make this, I'll omit the sugar and tweak the spices more to ramp up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was okay - I was disappointed given all the reviews. There are better beef stew recipes, I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Have made this for years. I always used a spicy tomato cocktail drink. Hoppin Tom or spicy V-8 and never used any sugar. Always raves and NEVER any left over. Hardy and delicious and extremely simple. Never had a need to brown meat before hand.Always tender and veggies perfect. NEVER open oven door and peek as heat goes down and takes a long time to raise back up. Just throw in oven and forget it for 5 hours!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I've made this stew many ways for years. I use a can of tomatoes instead of the juice cocktail. It's a stew that you can tweak to meet your taste buds but it turns out great each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States