No-Peek Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
Very good. A bit soupy, though. I cooked the meat in a pressure cooker for 15 minutes to make it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This was sooooo good....it smells really fantastic when you come home at the end of the work day and walk in the door. I made it one day when we were both off, and I think we sat around the crock pot waiting for it to be done! :-) It's a standby now, and it gives me a base that I can expand on if I want to change it too, and I like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
A wonderful tender stew! To make a complete meal out of this, I added carrots and potatoes. I also added a packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This was a good base for stew, but I did make a few additions to suit my family. I added carrots and potatoes and a pkg of onion soup mix along with salt, pepper, Accent, garlic powder, and thyme, which I think it definitely needed. The meat came out very tender and the broth was excellent (I thickened it a little at the end with instant potato flakes). I will be using this recipe for stew from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
YUM YUM!!! This is a fabulous recipe for people who are NOT fans of Beef Stew, OR are looking for a different taste. I added potatoes and used a Lipton onion soup packet instead of the french onion soup, and it still came out wonderful! My daughter who is not a "stew" fan, had 2 HUGE bowls!! perfect comfort food! This one is a keeper in my house!! thanks Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Very tasty! Used onion soup mix instead of the french onion soup...added a little water, and a little more wine. I think next time I'll add some pearl onions...very good though and definately would have it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
We tried this yesterday and it is definitely a "keeper" for us. I did add potatoes and pearl onions. Next time I'll also add carrots and green beans. I also thickened it up with corn starch to make it more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This was OK. Added 8 oz. frozen green beans to round it out for hubby on Atkins. Would be better with some potatoes and carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I personally did NOT like this at all (so sorry Cheryl!) BUT my boyfriend and roommate dug this recipe alot. I added baby carrots, celery, and the required mushrooms halfway during cooking. I would like to think I purchased a nice cut of meat but after 8 hours, the meat was flavorful by dried out (I have never had that problem before!). The meat literally fell apart even though it was already cubed but it tasted dry...which I assume was due to the wine. I just mixed it into my mashed potatoes and I could finish my plate. Even though I didn't care for this, like I said, my boyfriend and roommate though this was really good! This might become one of those recipes I send with them when they go up north in the fall...this is a recipe they could make (I'll add cubed potatoes to make the meal complete). It's that easy. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I MADE THIS FOR FRIENDS & FAMILY AND EVERYONE LIKED IT. I DID CHANGE A COUPLE OF THINGS. I DOUBLED THE SOUP & WINE AMOUNTS. I THINK THE FRENCH ONION SOUP MADE IT A LITTLE SALTY, SO I ADDED A 3RD CAN OF CREAM OF MUSHROOM SOUP AND THICKENED WITH CORNSTARCH. VERY GOOD WITH SOURDOUGH BREAD. THIS IS DEFINITELY A RECIPE I WILL MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States