No-Peek Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This dish was very easy to make and delicious. I added potatoes, peas, onions, carrotts and used bamboo mushrooms as opposed to regular mushrooms. The added ingredients really made it heartier. I suggest adding salt to the cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Certainly easy enough. We thickened the broth with cornstarch for a more hearty gravy. Seems to be lacking something...next time we will doctor it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I liked this recipe but next time I would try to thicken it with flour or cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This recipe rocked. I made it for a small gathering and had none left. It is great over egg noodles and with a salad to start. Add some crusty bread and you are good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
AWESOME!!! Super, easy and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
My husband and kids loved this easy stew recipe. I sprinkled the soup with garlic salt, pepper and italian seasoning about an hour before serving. It added some nice flavoring. Also chopped up some potatoes and added them in with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This recipe was awful! First off, the stew meat should be browned first so the juices stay inside the meat. Without browning, the juices escape and mingle with the other liquids and create a very unappetizing pinkish foam on top of the stew. It also makes the meat drier than if it was browned first. Second, the stew liquid is way too thin. It needs cornstarch or some other thickener otherwise it is like soup. Also, it makes a very light creamy colored stew instead of a richer brown color typically associated with stew. Thirdly, I used condensed Onion Soup (campbells) because I couldn't find French Onion soup. It wasn't that good but maybe the French onion soup would be better. Don't waste your time or money on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I made a few modifications, but it turned out great! I used extra lean beef stew meat, 1 can low-fat cream of mushroom soup, 1 packet dry onion soup mix (didn't have the soup on hand), a cup of red wine, a cup of water and a few dashes of garlic powder and it was excellent! The best beef stew I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Thanks so much! My husband and kids truly enjoyed this meal!! I found it to be a little salty...I did add a packet of onion lipton soup mix, which I will not do next time! Anytime my kids go for seconds on a main dish, I know it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Yum! Easy, quick, comfort food. Did add chopped celery, chopped red potatoes and some seasoning (pepper, thyme). As suggested by others, I thickened w/ cornstarch toward the end otherwise it would be a little too thin to use as stew. I served with green salad and dinner rolls - mmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States