No-Peek Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This was so easy. I liked it because I didn't have to brown the meat first. I will use fresh mushrooms next time though. Very tasty over rice. Even my three boys liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is the absolute best way to make beef stew! I don't ever keep condensed soups, so I made my own by cooking 2 TB of butter with 6 TB flour and then whisking in one cup each of milk and chicken stock. I also added a bay leaf, one onion, and 2 cloves of garlic, and worcestershire sauce. I had to leave out the red wine b/c I didn't have it, but I just added some stock to replace the liquid. I added carrots during the last 2 hours and peas the last 30 minutes. The best beef stew I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was the first time I made a beef stew. This recipe was a great base but I did try to make this like my grandpa used to. I omitted the red wine and added baby carrots, peas and red potatoes. I left this in the slow cooker for about 7 hours. It was tasty, not quite how grandpa used to make but I'm sure he would be proud. Serve with garlic bread or french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sself
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and even so, this was very bland to me. I served over egg noodles & even my guest said "it's not awful but it's not good." We added lots of cracked black pepper & sour cream after our initial taste to try to doctor it up but I would not make again. Another friend loves this recipe & it is well-rated... it just didn't appeal to my palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Good and easy recipe. Used onion soup mix instead of the French onion soup - caused it to be too salty. Next time will look for reduced sodium soups otherwise a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was really good. I did follow the advice from other reviews and added potatoes and carrots plus seasonings. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
A good starting point....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I have made this recipe only without the wine but instead of slow cooker, bake at 300 for 3 hrs. the gravy is thicker and not so liquid. Also, I sometimes add 8 oz sour cream and I double the cans of soups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcwarrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I give this recipe 4 stars because I used this recipe as a basic start for stew and added some extra steps to get the recipe that suited my household best. After browning the stew meat with onions in a pan, I followed the instructions listed and added peeled, chopped potatoes and carrots. After cooking in the slow cooker, we thickened the stew a little with flour and the end result was exactly the stew we were hoping for. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by San Diego Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States