No-Peek Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Truly as easy as it says and just as good! I served it over egg noodles and with mixed veggies but it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tkp4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was awesome! My whole family raved and it was just Soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
A flavorful, super-easy comfort dinner. I browned the meat first and then deglazed the pan with the red wine to capture the fond. It was an easy, simple dinner that would also be a great base for additional ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Okay, as the recipe reads it is a good beef stew if you want basic beef stew and have 5 minutes to prep--and some days, that's just fine. Here are my adjustments to kick it up a notch or two (and these add about 10-15 minutes of prep time): 1. Brown the beef in a non-stick skillet on medium-high heat. 2. While the beef is browning, cut up 3-4 carrots and place in bottom of slow cooker. 3. When beef is browned well, pour the 1/2 cup of red wine into the skillet to deglaze it; cook a few minutes to reduce (makes a lovely dark brown gravy). Pour beef and gravy into slow cooker. 4. Put the pan back on the burner and add 8-16 oz. sliced fresh mushrooms (subbing these for the canned mushrooms; I like baby bellas, but any mushroom is fine). 5. While the mushrooms saute, pour 1 envelope of dried onion soup mix over the beef. Add the can of French onion soup and 1 can of GOLDEN MUSHROOM soup (subbing this for the cream of mushroom soup). Add garlic powder to your preference. 6. When the mushrooms are slightly browned, add another glug of the red wine to the pan. Continue cooking another minute or two more to reduce wine; pour mushrooms and cooking liquid into slow cooker. 7. Cook as stated; serve over buttered noodles. For an extra 10-15 minutes, you can have a more flavorful, richer-colored beef stew. However, on days when you have 5 minutes or less, the original recipe is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
very good and this is now my 'go to' easy comfort recipe. It reminded us of a beef stroganoff more than a stew but it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I omitted the onion soup and used beef broth instead (though the soup would have been just as delicious). I also added some chopped vegetables. Simmered on low for 10 hours and it was SPOON tender. Though very tasty, it wasn't a real eye-pleaser so we topped it with shredded cheese and sliced scallions. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrideToBe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I cooked this today for football and I did the additions that others had mentioned. I thought it was a great base, but I had to add red potatoes, carrots and celery. Skipped the mushrooms and red wine. Didn't have either. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Although easy I found this Beef Stew somewhat bland, even after adding lots of fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! My 18 year old son even called me on his way to work to tell me to never lose this recipe! And he is not a fan of beef stew meat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I added some garlic powder, fresh rosemary, celery, carrots, potato and onion soup mix as well as the french onion soup. It was fabulous!!! Everyone raved about it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States