No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is a pretty good recipe. I find salting and draining the zucchini first works well to get rid of lots of the water - I also sometimes put rice in the bottom of the pan, which is good, but adds carbs. I use a mix of ground beef and sausage. I tried using canned spinach and didn't like that at all, so will skip next time or use frozen. Next time I will use cottage cheese instead of ricotta as well - I really didn't like the taste of the ricotta. I only used about half the mozzarella cheese and just put it on top to cut down on fat/calories (no parmesan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I would give it 10 stars if I could. The husband raved and raved. I used ground chicken instead of beef and so I added extra salt and garlic--lots and lots of garlic:) Next time, I will add more salt and a lot more herbs but I know from experience that is because of the chicken swap and not the recipe's problem. I used our own tomato sauce, added the wine and let it reduce as much as possible since so many people had trouble with a watery lasagna...YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Pretty good! I used about 2.5 large zucchinis, sub'd ground turkey for the ground beef, and just used a jar of sauce. Prep was longer than expected. I didn't really salt the zucchini slices and had lots of extra liquid, but I wonder if sauteing the mushrooms beforehand would help? I ended up scooping out the liquid to a bowl then sopping it up with slices of bread. Yum! I'll probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Wow! Delicious! My husband was absolutely raving. Lots of work, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This was good...the only problem I had was with it becoming very watery from the zucchini as it cooked. Excellent flavor though and I didn't miss the pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwhhScoob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Vermont, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I am a first time gardener and plant 6 zucchini plants. A family of two needs one may be two plants. So little to say I have to rely on Allrecipes for zucchini things night and day. HAHA. A friend suggested I try a zucchini lasagna. I searched Allrecipes and came up with this hit. Yes, it was a hit. It was a hit with my spouse and since I made an entire dish, I took the rest to work where the employees loved it as well. I have a potluck on Tuesday that I am bringing it to as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I made this tonight, following the basic recipe but substituting my "go to" homemade sauce (from the World's Best Pasta Sauce" recipe on this site but eliminated the water for this recipe). I used 3 zucchinis, the first two I brushed with egg and coated in Italian-seasoned panko and sauteed in a little EVOO. It wasn't enough since I wanted a third layer, so I just used the 3rd zucchini/layer raw without salting but I sprinkled some panko over that layer to absorb some of the liquid as it cooked. I didn't use the other veggies out of family preference. It was not the least bit liquidy, likely due to some combination of the thick sauce and the breadcrumbs. The two different textures of zucchini was good (the raw stayed firmer than the pre-cooked) but I think it could go either way. All in all, all 4 of us loved this and I will definitely make it again. (My 16-year old who was very opposed to the idea of lasagna without noodles said he didn't miss the pasta at all and went for seconds)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
My wife and I are on a low-carb diet and this satisfied our craving for italian food. I doubled the mozzarella, halved the parmesan, kicked out the green peppers (wife hates them). I wish that I had bought a 3rd zucchini because only 2 gave me little coverage. My wife complained before I made this that she HATES zucchini and would not like it. She loved it and even said she liked the dish better than regular lasagna...wow. I used a potato peeler to trim the ugly green outside off so she would not notice a huge visual difference and then used a cheese slicer to cut very thin and even slices. If I had thought ahead I would have added some garlic. We will definitely make this again. The calories for 1/8 pan were about 505, 17 carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Very good! Used zucchini, basil, bell pepper, parsley picked fresh from my garden! I found it hard to thinly slice the zucchini; but did my best. Used jar spaghetti sauce instead of making my own. Next time would add minced fresh garlic to the sautee mix. Would also bake the zucchini slices, as other reviewers have suggested. Used 1/2 nonfat cottage cheese mixed with 1/2 the riccotta. Also used lowfat mozzarella, trying to save some calories. Thank you so much for a delicious, nutritious recipe I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynnergyrl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
The flavor is quite good mine was very wet. I did salt the zucchini and omitted water. Next time I might grill the zucchini first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States